Thai Chicken Bahn Mi

Current Flavour and Menu Trends in Foodservice

Draw guests in with innovative flavour combinations. We can help.


With so many food trends to watch, it’s hard to know which ones really can impact your foodservice business. We’ve distilled the latest trends and flavour insights—ones we think offer the most prospects both for attracting new visits and enticing your guests to return for more.

Canadians are getting more adventurous: They’re interested in trying new flavours, and 44% indicate that they are more likely to visit a restaurant that offers new or innovative flavours.* Originality in flavour combinations can pay off in repeat traffic in foodservice, but don’t get too crazy: Research affirms what we know—your guests still crave familiar flavours. Success, then, lies within the safe culinary adventure, where they can try new flavour combinations but still recognize well-known flavour cues.

Canadian Consumer Insights

73% of Canadians
say that if they try and like a menu item with an innovative flavour, they would be highly likely to return.*


Almost one-third of Canadians (32%)
say they are more interested in trying new flavours than they were a year ago.*


Embrace the “Mash-Up”

Fusion is not a new trend, but the influence of street food and the casualization of menus has moved it from refined dishes to bold, unexpected “mash-ups.” Korean meets Mexican in tacos now. Caribbean flavours partner with regional Canadian fare for added depth and flavour.

Indeed, a whopping 66% of Canadians say they enjoy dishes that feature a fusion of flavours from more than one type of cuisine.* And millennials—that huge demographic encompassing ages 18-34—are even more interested in flavour combinations and global fusion dishes.

Five Trends to Explore

Bold and Spicy Flavours

Technomic’s MenuMonitor data shows that “spicy” flavours are prevalent on restaurant menus. More Canadians today indicate that they enjoy very spicy foods, including sauces, dips and condiments. Evidence to that trend abounds: Sriracha now sits next to ketchup as a tableside condiment in many restaurants.

Global Sauces

Sauces from different corners of the world offer an easy entry point into flavour exploration. Take note of three that are growing in recognition and popularity: Greek tzatziki, Chinese plum sauce and Indian chutney have all moved up for certain entrées, indicating that they are more common today than they were a few years ago. But we’re seeing global sauces move beyond their borders’ cuisines and into delicious mash-ups. Tzatziki jumps from the gyro, for instance, and onto a lamb burger or into a pita sandwich. Mango chutney moves from a cooling condiment for a spicy curry to a sweet relish on a spicy global sandwich build.*

BBQ Sauces

Barbecue sauce is a flavour mainstay, but exploration is moving the profile beyond sweet and smoky. Perhaps it’s a chipotle-and-honey-infused barbecue sauce, or one with quick add-ins of apple cider vinegar, hot sauce and chili flakes. Flavour exploration in the world of barbecue offers huge opportunity with little investment—the ability to cross-utilize helps you cut costs. Kraft Foodservice offers consistent, high-quality barbecue sauces, along with ideas on how to embellish them for menu distinction.

Tropical Flavours

What’s not to love about pineapple, mango, guava and coconut? Packed with sweet, aromatic flavour and fantastic versatility, Technomic calls out that tropical is moving beyond beverages such as smoothies and juices and into salads, sandwiches, entrées and desserts.

Celebrate the Sour

Technomic confirms that sour is making inroads on emerging chain and independent menus, adding a bracing, refreshing flavour profile through vinegars, mustards, pickled everything and Greek yogurt, as examples. As your guests’ palates mature, sour is a brave, new world of flavour possibility, adding soaring dimension and delicious acidity.

  1. * Canadian Flavour Consumer Trend Report, Technomic 2013

Sandwich thaï au poulet Banh Mi

Saveur du jour et tendances culinaires dans les Services alimentaires

Attirez les clients avec des combinaisons de saveurs novatrices. Nous pouvons vous aider!

 

Il y a tellement de tendances à surveiller qu’il devient difficile de savoir lesquelles peuvent avoir une incidence réelle sur vos affaires. Nous avons analysé les données récentes sur les saveurs les plus en vogue et retenu celles qui, selon nous, semblaient les plus prometteuses pour attirer de nouveaux clients et fidéliser la clientèle actuelle.


Les Canadiens deviennent plus aventureux! En effet, 44 % d’entre eux déclarent qu’ils sont plus portés à fréquenter un restaurant offrant de la nouveauté*. Faire preuve d’originalité dans les combinaisons de saveurs pourrait fidéliser vos clients. Mais, n’allez pas trop loin : le résultat des recherches confirme ce que nous savons déjà, c’est-à-dire que vos clients continuent d’apprécier les saveurs familières. Par conséquent, la réussite consiste à offrir une aventure culinaire mesurée, où vos clients peuvent faire l’essai de nouvelles combinaisons, tout en retrouvant des saveurs connues.

Info sur le consommateur canadien

73 % des Canadiens déclarent
que s’ils aiment un plat novateur, ils reviendront très probablement dans l’établissement*.

73%

Près d'un tiers (32 %) des Canadiens
déclarent être plus enclins à goúter de nouvelles saveurs qu'ils ne l'étaient il y a un an*.

32%

Favorisez les « mariages »

La fusion n’est pas un nouveau concept, mais sous l’influence de la cuisine de rue et de la simplification des menus, les plats raffinés ont fait place aux mets fusion, plus audacieux et inattendus : es saveurs coréennes s’unissent aux ingrédients mexicains, dans les tacos et la cuisine des Caraïbes rehausse la saveur des mets régionaux canadiens et leur donne une nouvelle dimension.

De plus,66 % des Canadiens déclarent raffoler des mets qui fusionnent les saveurs de plus d’un type de cuisine*. Et, les membres de la génération Y, cet énorme groupe démographique de consommateurs âgés de 18 à 34 ans, sont encore plus intéressés par les saveurs combinées et la cuisine fusion globale.

Cinq tendances à explorer

Saveurs marquées et épicées

Les données du rapport Technomic sur les menus confirment que les saveurs « épicées » se retrouvent couramment sur les menus. De plus en plus de Canadiens apprécient les mets très épicés, notamment les sauces, trempettes et condiments. à preuve, dans plusieurs restaurants la sauce Sriracha voisine avec le ketchup.

Sauces internationales

Des quatre coins du monde, les sauces constituent une porte d'entrée toute désignée pour explorer les saveurs. Par exemple, le tzatziki grec, la sauce aux prunes chinoise et le chutney indienont acquis une grande popularité depuis quelques années. Ces sauces relevées ne sont plus réservées aux mets traditionnels, et se marient maintenant à divers plats. Ainsi, le tzatziki quitte le gyro pour accompagner un burger d'agneau ou un sandwich pita. Et le chutney à la mangue, utilisé pour adoucir le cari épicé, confère une saveur sucrée à un sandwich étagé*

Sauces BBQ

Même la traditionnelle sauce barbecue n'est plus restreinte aux des saveurs sucrées ou fuméeset se retrouve aromatisée au piment chipotle et au miel, ou relevée de vinaigre de cidre, de sauce piquante et de chili en flocons. L'exploration des saveurs présente d'énormes possibilités à peu de frais. Le Service alimentaire Kraft propose des sauces barbecue de grande qualité ainsi que des suggestions sur la façon de leur apporter un cachet particulier qui se reflète sur votre menu.

Saveurs tropicales

Comment résister à l'ananas, la mangue, la goyave et la noix de coco, aussi savoureuses que polyvalentes? Selon le rapport Technomic, les saveurs tropicales ne se limitent plus aux boissons fouettées et aux jus et agrémentent les salades, sandwichs, mets principaux et desserts.

Bienvenue aux saveurs aigres

Le rapport Technomic confirme la percée des saveurs acidulées aux menus de nouvelles chaînes de restaurants ou des restaurants indépendants par le biais des vinaigres, moutardes, marinades et yogourt grec,par exemple. Ces saveurs acidulées ouvrent tout un monde de possibilités pour vos clients au goút raffiné.

    * Rapport sur les tendances de consommation des Canadiens, Technomic 2013.