Make Your Sandwiches Stand Out

What types of sandwiches do your customers want? We can help.

 

Why pay attention to your sandwich menu? 85% of consumers said they had purchased a sandwich away from home at least once in the past 60 days.* That's up from 20% two years previous. And among those who purchased in the last two months, the average consumption is 3.8 sandwiches per week. That's a lot of sandwiches. How are you capturing that business?

One out of three consumers polled (34%) say they would pay more for higher-quality sandwich ingredients. Not surprisingly, customers say that the most important aspects of a good sandwich are meat quality (84%), bread quality (77%), cheese quality (71%) and condiment/sandwich spread quality (48%).* The devil, then, is in the details.

ESTABLISHED, 1903 - THE Limitless POWER OF CHEESE
Top Ingredient Choices*

BREADS: Whole-wheat/whole-grain, Italian, baguette, ciabatta, bagel and multi-grain are the top breads preferred by consumers for lunch and dinner sandwiches.

MEATS: Chicken breast, roast beef, ham, bacon and turkey breast are consumers' top choices for lunch/dinner sandwich meats.

CHEESE: Cheddar, mozzarella, Swiss, Monterey Jack, Havarti and feta top the list of cheeses consumers like in their lunch/dinner sandwiches.

VEGETABLES: Lettuce, tomato, cucumber, onion and green pepper are consumers' top five choices for lunch/dinner sandwich toppings.

culinary tips

"Add a premium touch with your vegetable offering—oven-roasted tomato instead of everyday tomato, caramelized onion outshines white onion and roasted red pepper replaces bell pepper," says Kira Smith, corporate chef, Kraft Foodservice.


Make your sandwiches sing with wonderful flavour and texture. Our chefs at Kraft Foodservice worked up delicious recipes designed for your sandwich board.

Toasted sandwiches are hot. More consumers today (52%) than in 2010 (46%) say they don't mind waiting a little while for a sandwich to be toasted or grilled.* These recipes make it worth the wait with crisp texture and melded flavours.

bright ideas

Kraft Mayo Real Mayonnaise or Kraft Miracle Whip Spread is the sandwich condiment of choice at both lunch (48%) and dinner (42%). Another fifth of consumers say they would be likely to order flavoured mayonnaise on their sandwich at lunch (23%) and dinner (21%).* With a few quick add-ins, make your spreads craveable.

Kate Slater
Kraft Mayo

One out of five consumers (20%) strongly agree that they would like more restaurants to offer ethnic sandwiches and sandwich ingredients, particularly among men aged 18–24.*

sandwiches_downloa

Source: Sandwich Consumer Trend Report (Canada), 2012, by Technomic.

Des sandwichs qui se distinguent!

Quels sandwichs combleraient vos dîneurs? Nous pouvons vous aider!

 

Pourquoi devriez-vous rehausser votre menu de sandwichs? Parce que 85 %* des Canadiens ont déclaré qu'ils avaient acheté un sandwich hors de leur foyer au moins une fois au cours des 60 derniers jours. Il s'agit d'une hausse de 20 % par rapport à il y a deux ans. Et, les personnes qui ont fait cet achat au cours des deux derniers mois consomment en moyenne 3,8 sandwichs par semaine. Une montagne de sandwichs! Comment profitez-vous de cette augmentation de consommation?

Trente-quatre pour cent des consommateurs sondés, soit un sur trois, ont déclaré qu'ils accepteraient de payer un peu plus pour un sandwich composé d'ingrédients de qualité supérieure. Bien sûr, selon ces personnes, les aspects les plus importants d'un bon sandwich sont la qualité de la viande (84 %), la qualité du pain (77 %), la qualité du fromage (71 %) et la qualité des condiments ou de la tartinade à sandwich (48 %)*. Tout est dans les détails!

FONDÉ EN, 1903 - L'infini POUVOIR DU FROMAGE
Ingrédients de prédilection.*

PAIN : pain de blé entier ou de grains entiers, pain italien, baguette, ciabatta, bagel et pain multigrain sont les préférés des consommateurs pour leurs sandwichs du dîner ou du souper.

VIANDE : poitrine de poulet, rôti de bœuf, jambon, bacon et poitrine de dinde sont les viandes de prédilection des consommateurs pour leurs sandwichs du dîner ou du souper.

FROMAGE : cheddar, mozzarella, fromage suisse, monterey jack, havarti et féta sont en tête de la liste des fromages préférés des consommateurs pour leurs sandwichs du dîner ou du souper.

LÉGUMES : laitue, tomate, concombre, oignon et poivron vert sont les cinq ingrédients préférés des consommateurs pour garnir leurs sandwichs du midi ou du soir.

Kira Smith
Démarquez les vôtres!

"« Distinguez vos garnitures de légumes : utilisez des tomates rôties plutôt que des tomates ordinaires, et n'oubliez pas que les oignons caramélisés sont plus élégants que les oignons blancs, et les poivrons rouges rôtis remplacent avantageusement les simples poivrons rouges. » Kira Smith, chef exécutive d'entreprise, Service alimentaire Kraft


Transformez vos sandwichs grâce à de merveilleuses saveurs et textures. Nos chefs du Service alimentaire Kraft ont concocté de délicieuses recettes pour étendre votre menu de sandwichs.

Les sandwichs grillés ont la cote. Les consommateurs déclarent aujourd'hui, en proportion de 52 % par rapport à 46 % en 2010, qu'attendre quelques minutes de plus pour un sandwich grillé ne les dérange pas*. La texture croquante et la fusion des saveurs de ces recettes méritent qu'on attende un peu.

Tartinades pour sandwichs

La Vraie mayonnaise Mayo Kraft ou la tartinade Miracle Whip Kraft sont les condiments à sandwichs de choix tant au lunch (48 %) qu'au souper (42 %). Près du cinquième des consommateurs déclarent qu'ils sont plus enclins à commander une mayonnaise assaisonnée pour leur sandwich du midi (23 %) et du soir* (21 %). Grâce à quelques petits ajouts, rendez vos tartinades follement irrésistibles.

Kraft Mayo
Kraft Mayo

Un consommateur sur cinq (20 %), particulièrement parmi les hommes de 18 à 24 ans, est d'avis que plus de restaurants devraient offrir des sandwichs et des ingrédients ethniques*.

Sandwichs ethniques dont les consommateurs feraient l'essai : *

  • 1*Source : Technomic, rapport Sandwich Consumer Trend (Canada), 2012.