Spring Rolls with Creamy Hoisin Spread

Snack Time

Three ways to capture snack sales

Snacking is here to stay, as many Canadians have fundamentally changed the way they eat. Life on the move requires flexible dining options. That shift in dining habits, coupled with the menu proliferation of small plates and bar snacks, makes the snacking trend rich with opportunity. Nearly half of consumers (48%) snack at least twice a day, with 17% doing so three times or more per day.* “There’s less adherence to a strict 9-to-5 work schedule, so Canadians are looking for more flexible eating occasions that match their busy lifestyles,” says Kira Smith, corporate chef, Kraft Foodservice. Adding a snacking strategy to your operation can help boost traffic between dayparts. It’s a win-win, as your guests will most likely appreciate the lower menu cost and the chance to try a number of different smaller items.

* Technomic’s 2014 Canadian Snacking Occasion Consumer Trend Report

BAR SNACKS

Add another line of revenue with an enticing bar snacks menu. It doesn’t have to be extensive—just well executed. Bar snacks offer mini flavour adventures with little commitment and great reward. They allow guests to choose a snacking occasion over a meal occasion, but still come to you for both. Give-away snacks are another way to enhance the customer experience. They can be as easy as Corn Nuts—salty, crunchy and crowd-pleasing.

AFTERNOON & LATE NIGHT MENUS

A lot of restaurants call the afternoon hours “the dead zone”—that time between lunch and dinner service that just limps along. The same can be said for those lingering hours after the dinner rush and before the lights go out. Turn the afternoon and late night into a bar-only menu, encouraging business during the casual, after-work pop-in and the late-night snack attack. Make the snacks craveable and affordable for a winning strategy here.

On-the-Go Snacking

Target snackers who don’t have time to stop with ready-to-go options. Make it hassle-free and your guests will build it into their harried routines. Consider an array of single-serve tablespreads with familiar carriers, like bagels, soft pretzels, apple wedges and carrot sticks. For ready-to-go offerings that require no labour, look to single-serve fan favourites like Corn Nuts, peanuts and pretzels.

Millennial Mindset

Serious Snackers

Millennials, that coveted demographic of younger consumers, are driving changing eating habits, embracing the clockless day as the new normal—snacking is a huge part of their lifestyle. According to a study by Y-Pulse and the Culinary Visions Panel:

  • Younger Millennials (19-25) snack more often in the past year and favour a ‘snack throughout the day’ lifestyle

  • Middle Millennials (26-30) are snacking most during the late afternoon and before dinner

  • Older Millennials (31-36) are snacking in the mid-morning and late afternoon about the same amount as they did a year ago

Snacking Recipes

Our chefs at the Kraft Culinary Centre take snacking very seriously. They offer recipes that won’t tax your back of house, but offer big flavour—one craveable bite at a time.

BAR SNACKS

AFTERNOON or LATE NIGHT

ON THE GO


See more snacks and small bites



On-the-Go Snacking

Super Spreads

Get turnkey snack ideas for your life-on-the-run customers. Mix it up—we’ve got ways to make them love their morning or snack routine. Inspiration starts with Kraft Single-Serve Table Spreads Also, find signature spreads that won’t tax your back of house.

Easy mix ’n’ match spreads

READY TO GO

Single-serve portions give customers the dressings they want in takeout and delivery. With more than half of eater occasions being off-premise*, make sure you are offering Kraft Single-Serve Dressings to ensure your patrons are getting the flavour, quality, variety and consistency they expect. Available in 40 mL pouch and 18mL cup.

*NPD year ending February 2014

Kraftworks - Sign Up

Rouleaux du printemps avec tartinade hoisin crémeuse

L'heure du goûter

Trois façons de mousser les ventes de goûters.

 

Les goûters s'implantent solidement dans les nouvelles habitudes alimentaires des Canadiens au rythme de vie effréné. Cette mouvance dans les formes de repas conjuguée à la prolifération des entrées et des bouchées sur les menus fait des goûters une occasion à ne pas rater pour les services alimentaires. Près de la moitié des consommateurs (48 %) prennent une collation au moins deux fois par jour, dont 17 % au moins trois fois ou plus par jour*. « L'horaire du 9 à 5 étant de moins en moins la norme stricte, les Canadiens doivent adapter leurs habitudes alimentaires à leur mode de vie actif, explique Kira Smith, chef d'entreprise, Service alimentaire Kraft. En misant sur les goûters dans votre établissement, vous favorisez l'affluence à tous les moments de la journée. Voilà une stratégie gagnante à tous égards, puisque vos clients vont sans doute apprécier des coûts moindres qui les inciteront à essayer divers petits plats.

* Technomic, Étude 2014 des tendances de consommation des goûters au Canada.

Menu bar

Créez une autre source de revenus avec un menu bar alléchant. Faites primer l'originalité sur la quantité. Ces bouchées garantissent de petites aventures gustatives peu exigeantes mais grandement enrichissantes. Elles permettent à vos clients d'opter pour un goûter plutôt qu'un repas, ce qui ne les empêche pas de revenir pour les deux occasions. Autre façon de plaire aux clients : les goûters offerts gracieusement. Et il suffit de petites choses telles que les goûters au maïs Corn Nuts — salés, croquants et irrésistibles.

Menus d'après-midi ou de fin de soirée

Pour bien des restaurants, l'après-midi est une plage de temps mort, qui s'étire péniblement entre le dîner et le souper. Et il en va de même pour ce temps creux entre la folie du souper et le moment de mettre la clé dans la serrure. Pour les après-midi et fins de soirée, offrez uniquement un menu bar; vous favoriserez les petites incursions salvatrices au sortir du travail ou en fin de soirée. Rendez ces goûters irrésistibles et abordables et vous en récolterez les profits.

Goûters sur le pouce

Visez les gens pressés avec des goûters prêts à emporter. Présentez-les prêts à consommer et vos clients intégreront un arrêt chez vous dans leur routine quotidienne. Présentez un assortiment de tartinades en portions individuelles accompagnées d'aliments familiers tels que bagels, bretzels, quartiers de pommes et bâtonnets de carottes. Proposez des bouchées prêtes à emporter autant qu'à manger en portions individuelles toujours populaires telles que goûters au maïs Corn Nuts, arachides et bretzels.

Culture de la génération Y

Sérieux amateurs de goûters

Clientèle très recherchée, les personnes de la génération Y réinventent les façons de s'alimenter et considèrent comme la norme les journées aux horaires irréguliers; ces gens ont intégré les goûters à leur mode de vie. Selon une étude menée par Y-Pulse et la Table ronde sur les perspectives culinaires :

  • Les plus jeunes de la génération Y (19 à 25 ans) ont pris des collations plus souvent au cours de la dernière année et intègrent cette habitude à leur routine quotidienne.

  • Les personnes d'âge moyen (26 à 30 ans) prennent pour la plupart une collation en fin d'après-midi ou avant le souper.

  • Les plus âgés (31 à 36 ans) consomment un goûter à peu près au même rythme que l'an dernier, en milieu de matinée et en fin d'après-midi.

Recettes de goûters

Les chefs du Centre culinaire Kraft prennent les goûters très au sérieux. Ils vous proposent des recettes rapides à préparer pour vos cuisiniers et débordantes de saveur, absolument irrésistibles d'une bouchée à l'autre.

MENU BAR

APRÈS-MIDI ou FIN DE SOIRÉE

SUR LE POUCE


Voir plus de goûters et de bouchées



Goûter sur le pouce

Super tartinades

Obtenez des suggestions de goûters tout fin prêts pour vos clients pressés. Mélangez-les — nous avons concocté des goûters auxquels ils ne pourront pas résister, matin ou soir. L'inspiration tire sa source des tartinades en portions individuelles Kraft. Vous trouverez également des tartinades maison qui ne prendront pas trop de temps en cuisine.

Easy mix ’n’ match spreads

Prêtes à emporter

Les vinaigrettes en portions individuelles conviennent parfaitement pour les mets à emporter et à livrer. Comme plus de la moitié des repas se consomment ailleurs que dans votre établissement*, assurez-vous d'offrir les vinaigrettes en portions individuelles Kraft pour vous assurer que vos clients obtiennent la saveur, la qualité, la variété et la fraîcheur qu'ils recherchent. Conditionnées en sachets de 40 mL et en godets de 18 mL.*

* NPD, année prenant fin en février 2014

solutionskraft - Inscrivez-vous