Solutions for
Summertime Success

Make your place a summer destination

Every year Canadians rush to pack a year’s worth of warm-weather fun into the peak period from June through August. That means they’re heading to outdoor cafés, patios and BBQ restos in search of the perfect summer dining experience—an experience that savvy operators are ready to deliver.

These “staycationers” may be watching their budgets, but they are still looking for the flavour experiences they enjoy when they discover new foreign destinations.

Consumers are seeking out menu options that reflect Canada’s global influences. That multicultural vibe informs a growing hunger for hot, spicy and adventurous foods. In fact, 56% of consumers indicate that they enjoy very spicy foods, including sauces, dips and condiments. That’s a 6% jump since 2011.1

Clearly, today’s diners are looking for flavour innovation so adding in well-placed global accents may help drive repeat business and increase loyalty. With 66% of consumers reporting that they enjoy a fusion of flavours from more than one type of cuisine, it’s time to get creative.1

Creativity without taxing your back-of-house—that’s the sweet spot. Perhaps it’s as simple as spiking ranch dressing with harissa paste for a salad special. Or serving fries with a unique dipping sauce of mayonnaise laced with chipotle purée. A deft hand here can help entice flavour-seeking staycationers.

global sandwich builds Build a quick pathway to ethnic flavours through your sandwich spreads and garnishes.
Here are five tips to help you make your summer patio season a hot success2:
  • 1

    Make your patio attractive by using rope lights or put lamplights on each table. You don’t have to spend a fortune to add character to your patio. And remember to keep the decorations in line with your restaurant’s menu.

  • 2

    Entice with the power of smell by setting up an outdoor barbecue (if you have the space). Those strolling past your restaurant will be lured in.

  • 3

    Use a rolling menu board so you can update it daily and remove the problem of menus blowing away or getting dirty.

  • 4

    Make it easy on your servers by setting up a bussing station on the patio so they don’t have far to go to service the guests outside.

  • 5

    Market to larger crowds and parties by setting up a special area on the patio for large groups (space permitting). You can even set up a special menu for this area with lots of sharing items and finger foods. Check out these
    summer shareable recipes.

(e.g., savoury, fresh ingredients,
herb-infused)
(e.g., Thai-style,
Southern/sweet, flavoured)

Forecast to be a huge trend in 2015, non-alcoholic mocktails will include handcrafted or small-batch sodas, hand-pressed juices and healthy teas. According to Technomic Canada Inc.’s 2014 Canadian Beverage Trend Report, the fastest-growing beverage flavours are coconut, vanilla, lime, cranberry and pineapple.

A substantial proportion of Canadian consumers are purchasing more lemonade today than they did in 2012.3 Country Time Lemonade Drink Mix gives your guests a refreshing drink that’s not too sweet and not too tart. It also helps you build out lemonade-based drinks without adding too many extra steps.

For most busy Canadians, a long lunch on a sunny patio
is an occasional luxury. Much of the time, they can only dream of patio dining while tied down to the office desk.

In fact, leisurely lunches anywhere are a rare treat these days. But worker bees still have to eat—entice them with delicious on-the-go options. The easiest way to add a to-go lunch business is through sandwiches. Canadians love their sandwiches—94% eat at least one per week.4

Quality counts even more with today’s savvy consumer so your offerings can stand out against a sea of quick-serve options.

Offering portable menu options is key, but so is building a sound business strategy to support efficiency here. Keep the menu choices limited and appoint one staff member to manage the flow. If possible, use online ordering and smartphone applications to limit wait times.

global sandwich builds Menu the sandwich builds your guests love.

With their growing interest in global culinary influences, diners are looking for distinctive barbecue sauces. Start with a base such as Bull’s-Eye Barbecue Sauce and add on-trend flavours like sriracha, chipotle and maple.

Burgers continue to be the ultimate summer BBQ staple. Canadians love their burgers, with the overwhelming majority of consumers (89%) eating burgers once a

month or more. More than half of consumers (57%) say that build-your-own-burger concepts are appealing, and 55% say that the ability to customize burger toppings and condiments is important to them.5

Consider turning a simple burger into a winner by adding different toppings and cheeses, like provolone or Havarti. Burgers and beer go hand in hand, so don’t miss the opportunity to create a special beer-and-burger-pairing menu.

global sandwich builds Get grilling tips, secrets and best practices from the experts.

When the temperature rises, many of your guests will turn to lighter fare like crisp, green salads—eaten as sides or with a protein added for a light main course.

Perhaps the most significant value considerations for salad purchases are uniqueness and differentiation, according to Technomic Canada’s Left Side of the Menu: Canadian Soup & Salad Consumer Trend Report. Consumers who purchase

salad away from home are looking for options they can’t easily prepare themselves.

In fact, about 30% of consumers say it is important that
the salad they order in restaurants be unique.6
By adding innovative twists to traditional favourites, you can give
them what they’re looking for. For instance, turn a Caesar salad into a summer signature with grilled shrimp, summer squash and eggplant.

Summer-Ize Your Dressings

Use this chart for creative ways to make season-specific dressings with Kraft Dressings and a few easy add-ins. Get more ideas to help turn your dressings

global sandwich builds Get a fresh take on your customers’ favourite salads.
  1. Technomic Canadian Trend Report – Flavours, 2013
  2. http://www.restaurantcentral.ca/Seventipsforasuccessfulpatioseason.aspx
  3. Technomic Inc., 2014 Canadian Beverage Consumer Trend Report
  4. Technomic Inc., 2014 Canadian Sandwich Consumer Trend Report
  5. Technomic Inc., 2013 Canadian Burger Consumer Trend Report
  6. Technomic Canada's Left Side of the Menu: Canadian Soup & Salad Consumer Report

Solutions pour un été réussi

Rendez votre établissement la destination de l’été.

Chaque année, les Canadiens programment l’équivalent de un an d’activités en trois mois, soit de juin à août. Ils se bousculent vers lesterrasses, les brûleries et les restos barbecue à la recherche d’une expérience estivale mémorable – que les exploitants avisés savent organiser.

Tout en resserrant leurs dépenses, ces clients recherchent de nouvelles saveurs comme s’ils étaient à l’étranger.

Les consommateurs veulent des menus qui reflètent des influences globales au Canada. Cet attrait multiculturel envoie le signal du désir de plats plus piquants et aventuriers. En fait, 56 % des consommateurs déclarent qu’ils aiment les aliments très épicés, y compris sauces, trempettes et condiments, soit 6 % de plus qu’en 20111.

Clairement, les dîneurs cherchent l’innovation des saveurs; des accents internationaux placés judicieusement pourraient donc accroître les visites répétées et fidéliser votre clientèle. Au vu du désir de fusionner les saveurs et les cuisines du monde de 66 % des consommateurs, le temps est venu de faire place à la créativité1.

L’idée est d’être créatif sans taxer votre main-d’œuvre. Ce pourrait être aussi simple qu’une vinaigrette Ranch piquée de pâte de harissa pour donner un cachet spécial à une salade. Ou encore, qu’une trempette pour les frites, faite de mayonnaise zébrée d'une purée de chipotles. Vous pouvez habilement combler vos clients amateurs de nouvelles saveurs.

global sandwich builds Ouvrez la voie aux saveurs ethniques par vos tartinades à sandwich et autres garnitures.
Voici cinq conseils qui vous aideront à réussir votre saison à la terrasse2:
  • 1

    Égayez votre terrasse par des cordons lumineux ou une petite lampe sur chaque table. Personnaliser votre terrasse ne devrait pas vous coûter une fortune. N’oubliez pas d’harmoniser la décoration au menu de votre établissement;

  • 2

    Attirez les clients par le fumet d’un barbecue extérieur (si vous avez suffisamment de place). Les promeneurs ne pourront y résister;

  • 3

    Optez pour le menu sur panneaux. Ainsi, vous évitez que vos menus partent au vent ou se salissent;

  • 4

    Facilitez le travail de vos serveurs en installant un poste de travail sur la terrasse;

  • 5

    Attirez les grands groupes pour des réceptions en leur aménageant une place sur la terrasse (si vous avez de la place). Vous pourriez même dresser un menu spécial proposant plats à partager et petites bouchées à profusion.

(savoureux ingrédients frais infusés d’herbes)

(p. ex., de type thaï ou aromatisés au goût doux du Sud)

Selon les prévisions, il y aura un énorme engouement en 2015 pour les cocktails sans alcool, les boissons gazeuses faites sur mesure ou en petits lots, les jus pressés et les thés santé. Selon le rapport sur la consommation de boissons au Canada 2014 de Technomic Canada Inc., les saveurs de boissons à la croissance la plus rapide sont : noix de coco, vanille, lime, canneberge et ananas.

La proportion de consommateurs canadiens à acheter plus de limonade est beaucoup plus grande aujourd’hui qu’en 20123. La préparation pour boisson à la limonade Country Time propose à vos clients un goût ni trop sucré ni trop acide. Elle vous aide à préparer vos boissons à la limonade sans trop d’étapes.

Pour la plupart des Canadiens, un long dîner à la terrasse le midi est un luxe occasionnel. Étant bloqués au bureau, ils ne font que rêver d’un lunch à la terrasse.

En fait, ces lunchs qui s’éternisent se rangent dans les occasions spéciales. Mais les petites abeilles ouvrières doivent se mettre quelque chose sous la dent! Attirez-les par de délicieux plats à emporter. Le moyen le plus facile d’introduire des lunchs à emporter au bureau, ce sont les sandwichs. Les Canadiens en raffolent – 94 % en mangent au moins un par semaine4.

La qualité prime pour les consommateurs avisés; démarquez-vous de la marée d’options de restauration rapide.

La clé réside dans le menu des plats à emporter, mais il faut aussi établir une bonne stratégie commerciale pour être vraiment efficace. Limitez votre choix de plats et affectez un membre de votre personnel à la gestion des commandes.Si possible, intégrez les applications de commande en ligne ou par téléphone intelligent, histoire de réduire le temps d’attente.

global sandwich builds Mettez à votre menu les éléments de sandwich dont vos clients raffolent.

Mus par leur goût des influences culinaires mondiales, les dîneurs recherchent également des sauces barbecue plus sélectes. Commencez par la sauce barbecue Bull’s-Eye comme base et ajoutez des saveurs à la mode telles sriracha, chipotle et érable.

Les burgers continuent d’être la grillade d’été par excellence. Les Canadiens raffolent des burgers, une forte majorité (89%) en consommant une fois par mois ou plus.

Plus de la moitié des consommateurs (57 %) déclarent que le concept du burger à composer soi-même leur plaît, et 55 % affirment qu’il leur importe de pouvoir personnaliser également leurs garnitures et condiments de burgers6.

Songez à rendre votre simple burger attrayant par des garnitures et fromages différents, tels provolone ou havarti.

global sandwich builds Profitez des conseils, secrets et meilleures pratiques de spécialistes.

Lorsque la température monte, vos clients auront tendance à choisir un repas plus léger comme une salade verte croquante – servie en accompagnement ou comme plat principal avec une source de protéines.

Selon le rapport sur la consommation de soupes et de salades au Canada de Technomic Canada, le motif principal d'achats

de salades est leur caractère unique et distinctif. Les consommateurs recherchent des salades qu’ils ne pourraient préparer eux-mêmes au foyer.

En fait, pour près de 30 % des consommateurs, l’important c’est que la salade commandée au restaurant soit unique7. Vous les comblerez par des ajouts innovateurs à des plats traditionnels. Par exemple, transformez une salade César en une salade d’été griffée en y ajoutant crevettes, courges et aubergines grillées.

Estivalisez vos vinaigrettes!

Référez-vous à ce tableau pour la préparation de vinaigrettes de saison with Kraft et de quelques ajouts. Trouvez des idées pour rendre vos vinaigrettes un assaisonnement d’été spécial.

Nouvelles recettes des salades Nouvelles recettes des salades préférées de vos clients.
  1. Rapport sur les tendances en matière de saveurs, Technomic, 2013.
  2. http://www.restaurantcentral.ca/Seventipsforasuccessfulpatioseason.aspx
  3. Technomic Inc., rapport sur la consommation de boissons au Canada, 2014
  4. Technomic Inc., rapport sur la consommation de sandwichs au Canada, 2014.
  5. Technomic Inc., rapport sur la consommation de burgers au Canada, 2013.
  6. Technomic Canada, rapport sur la consommation de soupes et de salades au Canada.