Country Grilled
Lamb Chops
Country Grilled Lamb Chops

Make the Grill Work Harder for You

Country Grilled Lamb Chops

Industry experts share best grilling practices for premium results

 

Chances are, you're already making good use of your grill. It cooks food beautifully, from burgers to steaks. It imparts the visceral flavour of fire, relays authenticity of place and lets diners know that craftsmanship is behind their eating experience.

But it takes a deft hand to cook protein properly, coax out flavour and caramelize without over-charring. Why bother, when sautéing generally takes less back-of-house effort? "Grilling signals dining cues that guests today consider valuable," says Joseph Barin, corporate chef, Kraft Foodservice. "The smell helps elevate hunger and anticipation. Grill marks are elegant and enticing. And often, grilling indicates a better-for-you experience. It also can help upgrade the value perception." That all adds up to a moneymaking opportunity. Here, industry experts offer grilling tips, secrets and "best practices" to help you maximize profits from your grill.

Grilling Best Practices
Joseph Barin
Joseph Barin

corporate chef, Kraft Foodservice

favourite marinade: Kraft Golden Italian Dressing

favourite glaze: Bull's-Eye Original Barbecue Sauce

grill preference: gas-fired grill

Ryan Morrison
Ryan Morrison

assistant corporate chef, Glowbal Group; executive chef, Glowbal Grill, Vancouver

restaurant style: steaks and satay

grill setup: 48-inch gas-fired grill; top-fired broiler, flat top; 24-inch gas Forno high-heat oven

King Phojanakong
King Phojanakong

chef-owner, Kuma Inn and Umi Nom, New York City

restaurant style: independent specializing in Filipino-American "mash-ups"

grill setup: 36-inch gas-fired grill

Cliff Pleau
Cliff Pleau

executive chef, Seasons 52, Orlando-based

restaurant style: fresh grill and wine bar featuring seasonally inspired cooking; 30-plus units in 15 states

grill setup: open-fire grill fueled by 75% oak wood and 25% mesquite coals; brick oven

Gary Wiviott
Gary Wiviott

pitmaster, Barn & Company, Chicago

author of: Low & Slow: Master the Art of Barbecue in 5 Easy Lessons

restaurant style: independent

grill setup: two commercial smokers; live fire charcoal grill; 48-inch gas-fired grill; salamander; flat top

Randy Zweiban
Randy Zweiban

principal of SRZ Consulting

previous restaurant experience: chef-owner of Province; chef-partner of Nacional 27

grill preferences: gas-fired grill; chapa, an Argentine flat cast-iron pan

Chef Pleau

Pleau elevates grilled salmon with a marinade of ground white onion, malt vinegar, soy sauce, Dijon mustard, Old Bay Seasoning, garlic, salt and pepper. "The vinegar cuts through the fattiness of the fish while the mustard gives it depth," he says. "That marinade also works well on rotisserie chicken and lamb." When grilling salmon, he cooks the meat side down first to caramelize it. After he flips it, he lets the skin burn, then slides the meat right off the skin for service.

Chef Wiviott

For Barn & Company's famous chicken wings, Wiviott steeps wings overnight in a buttermilk brine (buttermilk, brown sugar, sage, thyme, coriander, white peppercorn, salt). He pats them down with a house rub, then cooks them in a 240˚F oven with a final low-temp finish on the gas grill to crisp the skin. The hot wings are tossed in butter and hot sauce and paired with a dipping sauce of Kraft Rancher's Choice Dressing or Kraft Blue Cheese Dressing. "The Kraft Dressings give our prep cooks one less thing to spend valuable time on."

Chef Zweiban

A standard salad can be made special with an unexpected but wonderful layer of smoky flavour. Zweiban pours a vinaigrette or dressing into a small container and places it in a hotel pan with smouldering wood chips, covered with aluminum foil, until the smoke penetrates the liquid (approximately 30 minutes).

Chef Wiviott

"I'm a big believer in the flavour domino effect," says Wiviott. He often starts with a marinade, then smokes the meat and adds a spice rub for even deeper flavour. "Season both sides. Spices interact with the fire, and fire is a flavour-changer."

Chef Pleau

Seasons 52 features rustic cooking techniques, like brick oven-roasting and grilling on an open fire—with nothing on the menu over 475 calories. For a better-for-you profile without sacrificing flavour, Pleau suggests spritzing items on the grill with oil from a spray bottle rather than dipping them in butter before grilling.

Chef Barin

To add smoky flavour without investing in a commercial smoker, Barin suggests soaking wood chips in water or fruit juice in a shallow hotel pan, then heating on the stovetop until the wood smokes. "Then move that to a preheated oven and slow roast a protein in there with the smoking wood chips. Delicious."

Chef Phojanakong

"Grilling is a great way to showcase delicious Filipino flavours," says Phojanakong. "But with proteins that take a long time to cook on the grill, the trick is to caramelize without over-charring." He starts with a dry rub, then adds a glaze 5-10 minutes before pulling from the grill. "If you use a marinade or early glaze on a longer-cooked item, the sugars in it will burn before it's cooked through."

Chef Pleau

"If you're putting in the effort, you want to get credit for it," says Pleau. Seasons 52 employs powerful menu language to relay premium cues, like "oak-grilled" and "caramelized." Other enticing phrases that help convey value are "spice-rubbed," "slow-marinated" and "wood-grilled."

Chef Zweiban

Zweiban marinates vegetables, such as spring onion, summer squash and portobello, then grills them on a white-hot "chapa," or Argentine-style flat grill. After chilling down, he incorporates them into salads and other composed dishes. "Preparing these components ahead of time, then pulling for service, adds depth of flavour and increases the guest's value perception."

Chef Morrison

For Glowbal Grill, a rotating menu of seafood, meat and vegetable satay items helps catapult sales. "The satay sells itself," says Morrison, referencing the sight of the satay platters, the sound of the sizzle from the open kitchen and the smell of the grill. "Pulling something from a live fire brings so many positives to the business. Plus it offers incredible value for these small bite-size portions with big flavours."

Chef Phojanakong

Certain value cuts of meat, like the flat iron and Denver cut, perform well on the grill with the help of a marinade to tenderize the meat and add flavour. One of Phojanakong's recent creations: grilled skirt steak marinated in rice vinegar, palm sugar, chipotle, vegetable oil, Dijon mustard, onion, garlic and soy sauce. "I buzz it all, then let the steak sit in it overnight," he says.



Cliff Pleau is no longer at Seasons 52.
Our Best BBQ - Nine ways to bring them in for barbecue
Kraftworks - Sign Up

Côtelettes d'agneau
grillées à la campagnarde
Côtelettes d'agneau grillées à la campagnarde

Mettez-vous aux commandes de votre gril

Côtelettes d'agneau grillées à la campagnarde

Les spécialistes proposent des meilleures façons de cuisiner au gril pour obtenir les meilleurs résultats.

 

Vous faites probablement bon usage de votre gril. Hamburgers ou steaks, la cuisson est à souhait. Il donne la saveur recherchée de la braise, il confère un air d'authenticité à l'établissement et persuade les convives que leur expérience gustative provient d'un savoir-faire soigné.

Toutefois, il faut de l'habileté pour cuire les protéines comme il se doit, faire ressortir tous les arômes et caraméliser sans carboniser. Pourquoi se donner la peine quand il suffit de sauter les aliments sans trop d'efforts? « La cuisson au gril laisse entrevoir un repas aux qualités précieuses pour les clients d'aujourd'hui, » dit Joseph Barin, chef d'entreprise, Service alimentaire Kraft. « L'odeur aide à aiguiser l'appétit et l'anticipation. Les marques de gril sont élégantes et appétissantes. Et très souvent, la grillade indique une expérience plus agréable. Elle peut aussi relever la valeur perçue. » Tout cela produit des occasions de réaliser des bénéfices. Ici, des spécialistes offrent des conseils, des secrets et des « meilleures pratiques » pour vous aider à tirer le maximum de profits de votre gril.

Grilling Best Practices
Joseph Barin
Joseph Barin

chef d'entreprise, Service alimentaire Kraft

marinade préférée : vinaigrette Italienne Golden Kraft

glaçage favori : sauce barbecue Bull's-Eye Bold Original

gril de prédilection : gril à gaz

Ryan Morrison
Ryan Morrison

chef d'entreprise adjoint, Glowbal Group; chef de cuisine, Glowbal Grill, à Vancouver

type de restaurant : steaks et satay

sorte de gril : gril au gaz de 48 pouces; grilloir par le haut; plaque lisse; four au gaz Forno de 24 pouces à chaleur intense

King Phojanakong
King Phojanakong

chef-propriétaire, Kuma Inn et Umi Nom, à New York

type de restaurant : indépendant spécialisé en fusion philippino-américaine

sorte de gril : gril au gaz de 36 pouces

Cliff Pleau
Cliff Pleau

chef de cuisine, Seasons 52, à Orlando

type de restaurant : grillades fraîches et bar à vins, cuisine inspirée de la saison; plus de 30 établissements dans 15 États

sorte de gril : gril à feu direct alimenté à 75 % de chêne et 25 % de charbon de mesquite; four en brique

Gary Wiviott
Gary Wiviott

maître du gril, Barn & Company, à Chicago

auteur de : Low & Slow: Master the Art of Barbecue in 5 Easy Lessons

type de restaurant : indépendant

sorte de gril : deux fumoirs commerciaux; gril au charbon à flamme directe; gril au gaz de 48 pouces; salamandre; plaque lisse

Randy Zweiban
Randy Zweiban

directeur de SRZ Consulting

expérience en restauration : chef-propriétaire de Province; chef-associé de Nacional 27

gril préféré : gril au gaz; chapa, une poêle plate en fonte, comme en Argentine

Chef Pleau

Cliff Pleau relève le saumon grillé d'une marinade d'oignon blanc haché, de vinaigre de malt, de sauce soja, de moutarde de Dijon, d'assaisonnement Old Bay, d'ail, de sel et de poivre. « Le vinaigre neutralise le gras du poisson et la moutarde enrichit le goût », dit-il. « Cette marinade rehausse également le poulet et l'agneau à la broche. » Pour son saumon grillé, il le cuit d'abord sur le côté de la chair pour le caraméliser. Ensuite il le retourne et laisse la peau brûler pour la retirer avant de servir le poisson.

Chef Wiviott

Pour les fameuses ailes de poulet de Barn & Company, Gary Wiviott laisse tremper les ailes toute la nuit dans une saumure de babeurre (babeurre, sucre brun, sauge, thym, coriandre, poivre blanc en grains, sel). Il les enduit d'un assaisonnement maison et les enfourne à 240 °F pour les finir à température faible sur le gril à gaz afin que la peau devienne croquante. Les ailes chaudes sont nappées de beurre et de sauce épicée et présentées avec une trempette faite de vinaigrette Campagne Kraft ou de vinaigrette fromage bleu Kraft. « Grâce aux vinaigrettes Kraft, nos aides-cuisiniers ne perdent pas de temps précieux. »

Chef Zweiban

Une simple salade devient spéciale quand on y ajoute un arôme inattendu et divin de fumée. Randy Zweiban verse une vinaigrette dans un petit récipient et le met dans une grande poêle avec des copeaux de bois incandescents, couverts de papier d'aluminium, jusqu'à ce que la fumée pénètre le liquide (environ 30 minutes).

Chef Wiviott

« Je crois fermement à l'effet domino des saveurs », s'exclame Gary Wiviott. Il lui arrive souvent de commencer par une marinade, pour ensuite fumer la viande et la frictionner avec des épices pour une saveur plus riche et prononcée. « Assaisonnez des deux côtés. Les épices réagissent au feu, et le feu modifie les saveurs. »

Chef Pleau

Seasons 52 s'enorgueillit de techniques de cuisson rustiques, comme rôtir dans un four en brique et griller sur une flamme directe—et rien au menu ne dépasse les 475 calories. Pour un profil meilleur pour la santé, sans sacrifier le goût, Cliff Pleau conseille d'arroser les aliments sur le gril avec un vaporisateur d'huile, au lieu de les tremper dans du beurre avant de les griller.

Chef Barin

Pour ajouter un arôme de fumée sans investir dans un fumoir commercial, Joseph Barin suggère de tremper des copeaux de bois dans un plat d'hôtel peu profond rempli d'eau ou de jus de fruit et de le chauffer sur la cuisinière jusqu'à ce que le bois commence à fumer. « Ensuite, mettre le tout dans un four préchauffé et y faire rôtir lentement la pièce de protéine avec les copeaux fumés. Délicieux. »

Chef Phojanakong

« La grillade est un moyen délicieux de faire connaître les saveurs succulentes des Philippines », dit King Phojanakong. « Mais avec les protéines qui prennent beaucoup de temps à cuire sur le gril, l'art consiste à caraméliser sans carboniser. » Il commence par enduire la pièce d'un assaisonnement sec et ajoute un glaçage 5 à 10 minutes avant de la retirer du gril. « Si vous utilisez une marinade ou appliquez un glaçage trop tôt sur les aliments à cuisson plus longue, les sucres qu'ils contiennent vont brûler avant la cuisson désirée. »

Chef Pleau

« Si vous y consacrez des efforts, il faut le montrer », dit Cliff Pleau. Seasons 52 emploie un langage percutant dans son menu, avec des descriptifs comme « grillé au bois de chêne » et « caramélisé ». Pour aider à communiquer la valeur, il y a des expressions comme « frictionné aux épices » et « grillé au feu de bois ».

Chef Zweiban

Randy Zweiban fait mariner des légumes comme les jeunes oignons, les courgettes et les portobellos, et les met à griller sur une « chapa » chauffée à blanc, soit une plaque à griller de style argentin. Une fois les légumes refroidis, il les incorpore dans des salades ou d’autres plats. « Comme ces aliments sont préparés à l'avance et sortis au moment de servir, ils enrichissent la saveur et rehaussent la perception de valeur des convives. »

Chef Morrison

Au Glowbal Grill, un menu alternant composé de fruits de mer, de viande et de satay aux légumes aide à faire grimper les ventes. « Le satay se vend tout seul », dit Ryan Morrison, parlant de la présentation des plats, du grésillement provenant de la cuisine ouverte et de l'odeur du gril. Les aliments sortant d'un feu vif rapportent beaucoup. En plus, cela ajoute une valeur incroyable à ces petites bouchées aux saveurs riches.

Chef Phojanakong

Certaines pièces de viande bon marché, comme le steak de pointe d'épaule et de palette (coupe Denver), s'apprêtent bien au gril avec une marinade pour attendrir la viande et en relever le goût. Une des dernières créations de King Phojanakong : bifteck de hampe mariné dans du vinaigre de riz, sucre de palme, chipotle, huile végétale, moutarde de Dijon, oignon, ail et sauce soja, et grillé. « Je brasse le tout et je laisse le steak baigner toute la nuit », explique-t-il.

Cliff Pleau ne travaille plus au restaurant Seasons 52.
Notre meilleur barbecue - Neuf façons de les attirer pour un barbecue