Chicken Waffle Bowl

Fabulous Flatbreads

Chicken Waffle Bowl

Flatbreads answer a growing need for shareables while providing a versatile backdrop for chef innovation.

Flatbreads give you a deliciously thin canvas for flavour exploration. And if you're looking for an easy-to-execute shareable for your menu—this is it. They've been around since ancient times, often appearing as naan, chapatti, lavash, pita and tortilla. But today's universal term of "flatbread" performs well on menus, allowing chefs multiple paths for culinary adventure. "You can go bold, you can go with ethnic flavours, you can go familiar, and you can certainly showcase seasonal ingredients on a flatbread," says Freeman Moser III, Senior Executive Chef for Kraft Foodservice. Versatility doesn't stop with recipe builds. Like a pizza or sandwich, the flatbread lends itself to interpretation—cross-utilization potential is endless here. Operationally, consider the pros and cons of housemade versus ready-made. "If you make them in-house, you can claim artisanship, which goes a long way with today's diner," says Chef Moser. "But make sure your kitchen staff has the skills to work with dough. If your set-up is better suited for convenience products, there are really good ready-made dough products on the market, which will help save in labour costs." The chefs at the Kraft Culinary Centre worked up great flatbread recipes here, guided by ease of prep and popular flavour profiles.

Mango-BBQ Pork Flatbread Salad

This super-easy build starts with a spread of Kraft BarBQ Sauce embellished with sweet mango chunks. Shredded pork shoulder goes down next. A beautifully fresh counterpoint of salad tossed in Kraft Balsamic Vinaigrette Dressing crowns the flatbread.

Slight twist: add mango to the salad component instead of to the BBQ sauce

Vidalia Onion & Bacon Flatbread

Our chefs use pita bread as a flatbread base, which lends itself to personal size presentations and makes for a crisp texture. Call out the provenance of your premium ingredients here: sweet Vidalia onions and Philadelphia Light Brick Cream Cheese Spread.

Other profile: switch out the onion for roasted garlic

Smoked Corn & Pulled Pork Flatbread

Starting with housemade dough, Chef Moser builds this summer-perfect flatbread with cookout flavours: grilled onion, smoked corn, pulled pork with a great charred flavour. Kraft BarBQ Sauce ties it all together with its classic sweet and spicy profile.

Substitution: replace scratch dough with ready-made product

BBQ Turkey Burger Salad FlatbreadHealthy Living

Big flavours and great contrasting textures make this recipe stand out among better-for-you options. Bull's-Eye Bold Original Barbecue Sauce grounds the dish with a bold and tangy foundation while Kraft Calorie-Wise Zesty Italian Dressing livens up the fresh greens. "It's an easy-to-assemble flatbread that makes good use of turkey burgers that you might already carry on the menu," says Chef Moser.

rotisserie chicken, shaved turkey

BBQ Chicken, Caramelized Onions & Arugula Flatbread

Our chefs' version of the BBQ Chicken pizza—modernized for today's diner. Layers of flavour start with a complex, rich combination of Kraft BarBQ Sauce and Bull's-Eye Bold Original Barbecue Sauce. Tender chicken thighs, sweet caramelized onion and crunchy fried chicken crackling make this a runaway hit.

Other protein ideas: use shredded pork instead of the chicken thighs

BBQ Shrimp Flatbread

This flatbread couldn't be simpler to prepare. A spread of Bull's-Eye Bold Original Barbecue Sauce adds its deep, rich profile. Beautiful fat shrimp make it a premium presentation. Kraft Shredded Monterey Jack Cheese and fresh tomatoes keep it familiar.

Other protein options: pulled pork, barbecue chicken

BBQ Shrimp Flatbread

Chef Moser adds Kraft Shredded Parmesan Cheese to Philadelphia Light Brick Cream Cheese Spread, adding another dimension of flavour and texture to the creamy spread. Fresh cilantro, pineapple and lime juice add bright notes to this delicious flatbread.

Other protein options: grilled chicken, grilled pork

Flatbreads have been around since the Sumerians in ancient Mesopotamia discovered that they could mash edible grains into a paste, then bake them into flatbreads. Different cultures have their versions of flatbreads, which are definitely worth exploring:

Barbari bread (aka Tabrizi bread): active dry yeast, water, oil, white flour, butter, sesame seeds—Iran

Flatbrød: barley flour, salt, water—Norway

Lavash: active dry yeast, water, white flour, salt—Armenia

Piadina: white flour, lard, salt, water—Italy

Pupusa: masa harina flour, water—El Salvador

Roti: white flour, salt, oil, (sometimes clarified butter), water—Malaysia

Tunnbröd: a combination of wheat, barley and rye flour, butter, milk, salt, sugar, baking powder, active dry yeast, ground fennel—Sweden

Yufka: wheat flour, salt, water—Turkey

Sign in and watch a demo on how to make flatbreads.
Kraftworks - Sign Up

Chicken Waffle Bowl

De fabuleux pains plats

Chicken Waffle Bowl

Les pains plats répondent à la demande croissante pour les plats à partager tout en servant de toile de fond polyvalente pour l'innovation en matière de création culinaire.

Délicieusement mince, le pain plat se prête à l'exploration des saveurs. Et si vous êtes à la recherche d'un plat à partager facile d'exécution pour votre menu, c'est la solution idéale. Les pains plats existent depuis des temps immémoriaux et portent différents noms : naan, chapati, lavash, pita, tortilla, etc. Aujourd'hui, l'expression universelle « pain plat » fait belle figure dans les menus et permet aux chefs d'explorer d'innombrables avenues d'aventure culinaire. « Avec un pain plat, vous pouvez être audacieux, choisir des saveurs ethniques ou traditionnelles, et vous pouvez certainement faire la part belle aux ingrédients saisonniers », dit Freeman Moser III, chef exécutif principal, Service alimentaire Kraft. La polyvalence ne s'arrête pas aux recettes. Comme la pizza ou le sandwich, le pain plat se prête à merveille à l'interprétation et peut se décliner à l'infini. D'un point de vue opérationnel, tenez compte des avantages et inconvénients des pains plats faits maison par rapport aux produits prêts à utiliser. « Si vous les confectionnez sur place, l'aspect artisanal ravira les clients, dit le chef Moser. Assurez-vous toutefois que votre personnel en cuisine sait manier la pâte. Si votre installation se prête mieux aux produits plus pratiques, d'excellentes pâtes prêtes à utiliser sont offertes sur le marché, ce qui réduira vos coûts de main-d'œuvre. » Les chefs du Centre culinaire Kraft ont créé de formidables recettes de pains plats inspirées par des profils de saveur populaires, avec le souci constant de simplifier la préparation.

Salade de porc barbecue à la mangue sur pain plat

Cette création super facile commence par une tartinade de sauce BBQ Kraft qu'agrémentent des morceaux de mangue bien sucrés. On dépose ensuite l'épaule de porc effilochée. Une feuille de laitue rehaussée de vinaigrette Balsamique Kraft coiffe le pain plat pour créer un délicieux contraste.

Légère variante : Ajoutez la mangue à la salade plutôt qu'à la sauce barbecue.

Pain plat aux oignons Vidalia et au bacon

Nos chefs utilisent du pain pita comme base de pain plat, ce qui leur permet de personnaliser les tailles et de créer des textures croustillantes. Annoncez la provenance de vos ingrédients de choix : oignons Vidalia doux et le fromage à la crème à tartiner Philadelphia léger en brique.

Autre profil : Remplacez l'oignon par de l'ail rôti

Pain plat au maïs fumé et au porc effiloché

À partir d'une pâte maison, le chef Moser apprête ce pain plat parfait pour l'été avec ses saveurs de cuisson à l'extérieur : oignon grillé, maïs fumé, porc effiloché et légère touche carbonisée. La sauce BBQ Kraft marie le tout avec ses notes sucrées et épicées.

Substitut : Remplacez la pâte maison par un produit prêt à utiliser.

Salade de dinde barbecue sur pain plat

Avec ses saveurs intenses et le contraste des textures, cette recette se démarque parmi vos plats santé. Alors que la sauce barbecue Bull's-Eye Bold Original donne une touche intense et piquante au plat, la vinaigrette Italienne piquante Calorie-Wise Kraft rehausse les feuilles de laitue fraîche. « Ce pain plat facile à assembler se prête à merveille aux burgers de dinde qui figurent peut-être déjà au menu », dit le chef Moser.

D'autres options protéinées : poulet rôti, dinde en copeaux

Pain plat au poulet barbecue, aux oignons caramélisés et à la roquette

La pizza au poulet barbecue de nos chefs : modernisée au goût des clients d'aujourd'hui. Les couches de saveur commencent par une combinaison riche et complexe de sauce BBQ Kraft et de sauce barbecue Bull's-Eye Bold Original. Avec ses tendres hauts de cuisse de poulet, ses oignons doux caramélisés et sa peau de poulet frit croustillante, c'est un succès retentissant.

D'autres idées protéinées : utilisez du porc déchiqueté au lieu des hauts de cuisse de poulet.

Pain plat aux crevettes barbecue

Ce pain plat est simple comme bonjour. Une tartinade de sauce barbecue Bull's-Eye Bold Original ajoute une saveur intense et riche. De belles grosses crevettes étoffent la présentation. Le fromage râpé Monterey Jack Kraft et les tomates fraîches permettent de garder un petit côté familier.

D'autres options protéinées : poulet grillé, porc grillé

Pain plat aux crevettes et au Philadelphia

Le chef Moser ajoute du fromage Parmesan râpé Kraft au fromage à la crème à tartiner Philadelphia léger en brique, ce qui donne une autre dimension de saveur et de texture à la tartinade crémeuse. De la coriandre fraîche, de l'ananas et du jus de lime rehaussent ce délicieux pain plat avec des notes colorées.

D'autres options protéinées : poulet grillé, porc grillé

Les pains plats existent depuis que les Sumériens, dans l'ancienne Mésopotamie, ont découvert qu'ils pouvaient écraser des grains comestibles pour en faire une pâte et la faire cuire. Différentes cultures ont inventé leurs propres variantes du pain plat, qu'il vaut la peine d'expérimenter :

Pain barbari (aussi appelé « tabrizi ») : levure sèche active, eau, huile, farine blanche, beurre, graines de sésame—Iran;

Flatbrød :farine d'orge, sel, eau—Norvège;

Lavash : levure sèche active, eau, farine blanche, sel—Arménie;

Piadina : farine blanche, saindoux, sel, eau—Italie;

Pupusa :farine masa harina, eau—Salvador;

Roti: farine blanche, sel, huile, (parfois du beurre clarifié), eau—Malaisie;

Tunnbröd: combinaison de farines de blé, d'orge et de seigle, beurre, lait, sel, sucre, poudre à pâte, levure sèche active, graines de fenouil moulues —Suède;

Yufka: farine de blé, sel, eau—Turquie

Ouvrez une session et regardez une démonstration sur la façon de faire du pain plat.
solutionskraft - Inscrivez-vous