The Grilled Cheese Battle

Four chefs. Four bloggers.
One epic grilled cheese battle.

What makes a grilled cheese sandwich the best grilled cheese sandwich? When you’re talking restaurant quality, it translates to big flavours, contrasting textures, creative add-ins and, of course, melty, gooey cheese.

Setting the Stage

img

This summer, Kraft Heinz Canada sponsored The Underground Chef Co.’s Grilled Cheese Battle in Toronto, Four teams, each boasting one chef and one food blogger, competed in front of a live audience and a panel of judges. The judges based their scores on taste, originality, use of secret ingredient, preparation steps and visual presentation. Kraft Heinz was proud to be part of the event held at Böehmer Restaurant—after all, we’re confident that our products help build the best grilled cheeses on menus today.

img2

Seeing chefs and bloggers take grilled cheese to the next level was exciting. It also demonstrates the menu opportunity within this familiar comfort-food sandwich. —Dane Higgins, Kraft Heinz Corporate Chef

BATTLE One

team 1

Alice Phan, Blogger + Sebastian Gallucci, Chef

img
arrow

vs.

team 2

Danielle Finestone, Blogger + Raxx BHIM, Chef

Team 1 and TEAM 2 were tasked with creating six portions of a grilled cheese sandwich in 30 minutes, using beef spare ribs as the secret ingredient. TEAM 1, with Sebastian Gallucci and Alice Phan, emerged victorious. Their winning sandwich was a savoury-sweet masterpiece that starred spare ribs marinated in chimichurri, topped with a cheesy trio of Kraft Shredded Asiago, Kraft Extra Cheddar and Kraft Shredded Parmesan. The finish was a beautiful strawberry-tomato salsa, emboldened with red Thai chili.

The Kraft Cheddar melts perfectly—an important component of any grilled cheese. I was impressed with all of the Kraft cheeses—great variety and quality.  — Sebastian Gallucci

BATTLE TWO

team 3

Aleshia Pinto, Blogger + Devan Rajkumar, Chef

In round two, Team 3 and Team 4 battled it out, using bacon as the secret ingredient. Team 3, with Devan Rajkumar and Aleshia Pinto, won the round with their Crispy Cheddar & Bourbon-Bacon Grilled Cheese with Tomato Chutney. “This sandwich stood out with its layers of great flavour, as well as its ingenious use of an outside cheese crust,” says Dane Higgins, Kraft Heinz corporate chef.

arrow

“We wanted to go bold with our cheese to stand up to the bourbon, so we used the Kraft Monterey Jack with Jalapeño Slice, then mellowed it all a bit with the Kraft Processed Swiss Slices,” says Rajkumar. The winning touch that made for a signature

vs.

team 4

Yvonne Tsui, Blogger + Russell Auckbaraullee, Chef

img

grilled cheese? The cheddar crust. “We used the Kraft Shredded Mozzarella/Cheddar, sprinkled over the outside of the bread, so it really got into the pores,” says Rajkumar.

I’ve done it with mozzarella before, but the colour was amazing with the Kraft Shredded Mozzarella/Cheddar—and we got a nice, clean cheese flavour with a killer crusty texture.  — Devan Rajkumar

FINAL BATTLE

team 1

Alice Phan, Blogger + Sebastian Gallucci, Chef

img
arrow

vs.

team 3

Aleshia Pinto, Blogger + Devan Rajkumar, Chef

After two competitive rounds, Team 1 and Team 3 advanced to the finals, where lobster was the secret ingredient. Team 3 created the winning Lobster & Asiago Grilled Cheese with Peach Chutney. This decadent sandwich sees ciabatta bread brushed with thyme-infused melted butter. The inside gets a swipe of Philadelphia Cream Cheese Spread that’s boosted with a bit of Kraft Rancher’s Choice Dressing, a Kraft Provolone Cheese Slice, gently poached lobster and a finish of Kraft Shredded Asiago Cheese. For a unique sandwich topper, this winning duo came up with a creative peach and parsley-stem chutney, brightened with Heinz Apple Cider Vinegar.

Seafood and cream cheese are a classic pairing, like in a crab and artichoke dip. They did a clever play on that combination here, and made sure there was a lot going on with big flavours and textures,  
says Chef Dane.

I was super impressed by the fantastic flavour profiles of the Kraft cheese products.  Devan Rajkumar

img6
img

Winning Chef

Devan Rajkumar

  • Chef, Caterer, Culinary Instructor
    & TV Personality

  • Go-to ingredient: guanciale (cured pork jowl)

  • Favourite Kraft Heinz product:
    Heinz Ketchup because of its versatility and burst of umami.

img

Winning blogger

Aleshia Pinto

  • CREATOR OF Less with Bread

  • Go-to ingredient: flour

  • Favourite Kraft Heinz product:
    Kraft Singles! They melt perfectly and bring back that childhood memory of what a grilled cheese sandwich should taste like.

img

Get Your Grilled Cheese On

We’ve got nine on-trend recipes for you, plus ideas on how to build your own signature sandwiches.

img
Kraftworks - Sign Up
Dress Up
Dress Up

La bataille des sandwichs au fromage fondant

Quatre chefs. Quatre blogueuses. Une glorieuse bataille de sandwichs au fromage fondant

Qu’est-ce qui caractérise le meilleur sandwich au fromage fondant? Quand on parle de qualité restaurant, on parle de saveurs intenses, de contraste de textures, de garnitures créatives et, bien sûr, de fromage fondant et onctueux.

LA SCÈNE DE L’AFFRONTEMENT

img

Cet été, Kraft Heinz Canada a commandité la bataille des sandwichs au fromage fondant de Underground Chef Co. tenue à Toronto. Quatre équipes, chacune constituée d’un chef et d’une blogueuse culinaire, se sont affrontées en direct devant un auditoire et un jury. Les juges évaluaient les sandwichs en fonction du goût, de l’originalité, de l’utilisation d’un ingrédient secret, des étapes de préparation et de la présentation visuelle. Kraft Heinz fièrement participé à l’événement tenu au restaurant Böehmer : après tout, nous sommes convaincus que nos produits font partie intégrante des meilleurs sandwichs au fromage fondant sur les menus d’aujourd’hui.

img2

C’était emballant de voir des CHEFS et des BLOGUEUSES faire du SANDWICH AU FROMAGE FONDANT un plat haut de gamme. L’événement a aussi permis de montrer toutes les POSSIBILITÉS DE MENU de ce SANDWICH réconfortant qui nous est familier. — Dane Higgins, CHEF DE CUISINE DE Kraft Heinz

PREMIER AFFRONTEMENT

ÉQUIPE 1

Alice Phan, BLOGUEUSE + Sebastian Gallucci, Chef

img
arrow

vs

ÉQUIPE 2

Danielle Finestone, BLOGUEUSE + Raxx BHIM, Chef

L’ÉQUIPE 1 et l’ÉQUIPE 2 devaient créer un sandwich au fromage fondant à six portions en 30 minutes, en y incorporant des côtes levées de bœuf comme ingrédient secret. L’ÉQUIPE 1, composée de Sebastian Gallucci et d’Alice Phan, a remporté la victoire. Leur sandwich gagnant était un petit chef-d’œuvre salé-sucré mettant en vedette des côtes levées marinées dans le chimichurri, garnies d’un trio de fromages Kraft : l’Asiago râpé, l’Extra Cheddar et le Parmesan râpé. L’ensemble était merveilleusement complété par une salsa fraises-tomates, rehaussée de piment rouge thaï.

Le Cheddar Kraft FOND À LA PERFECTION , une composante essentielle de tout sandwich au fromage fondant. Tous les fromages Kraft m’ont impressionné : leur variété et leur qualité sont excellentes.  — Sebastian Gallucci

DEUXIÈME AFFRONTEMENT

ÉQUIPE 3

Aleshia Pinto, BLOGUEUSE + Devan Rajkumar, Chef

Le deuxième ronde mettait en confrontation les équipes 3 et 4 qui devaient faire du bacon l’ingrédient secret de leur recette. L’ÉQUIPE 3, composée de Devan Rajkumar et d’Aleshia Pinto, a remporté les honneurs avec son sandwich croustillant au cheddar fondant et au bacon au bourbon avec chutney aux tomates. « Ce sandwich s’est démarqué grâce à sa délicieuse combinaison de saveurs et à son ingénieuse croûte de fromage extérieure », commente Dane Higgins, chef de cuisine de Kraft Heinz.

« Nous voulions jouer d’audace avec le fromage pour contrebalancer le bourbon:nous avons donc choisi le Monterey Jack avec piments jalapenos Kraft, que nous avons adouci un peu avec des tranches de fromage fondu Suisse Kraft », explique Rajkumar.

vs

ÉQUIPE 4

Yvonne Tsui, BLOGUEUSE + Russell Auckbaraullee, Chef

img
arrow

La touche gagnante de ce singulier sandwich au fromage fondant? La croûte de fromage. « Nous avons utilisé le mélange de fromages Mozza-Cheddar râpés Kraft, dont nous avons recouvert le pain pour qu’il s’incruste vraiment dans les alvéoles », ajoute Rajkumar.

J’avais déjà réalisé cette croûte avec du mozzarella, mais le mélange de fromages Mozza-Cheddar râpés Kraft lui a donné une couleur sensationnelle, en plus d’une franche saveur de fromage et d’une TEXTURE CROUSTILLANTE À SE DAMNER  — Devan Rajkumar

AFFRONTEMENT FINAL

ÉQUIPE 1

Alice Phan, BLOGUEUSE+Sebastian Gallucci, Chef

Après deux rondes préliminaires, L’ÉQUIPE 1 et l’ÉQUIPE 3 ont accédé à la ronde finale, où le homard tenait lieu d’ingrédient secret. L’ÉQUIPE 3, grâce à son sandwich à l’asiago

img

vs

ÉQUIPE 3

Aleshia Pinto, BLOGUEUSE + Devan Rajkumar, Chef

fondant et au homard avec chutney aux pêches a été déclarée grande gagnante. Cet ébahissant sandwich repose sur un pain ciabatta badigeonné de beurre fondu infusé au thym. L’intérieur du pain est généreusement recouvert de fromage à la crème à tartiner Philadelphia. agrémenté d’un soupçon de vinaigrette Campagne Kraft d’une tranche de fromage Provolone Kraft, de homard délicatement poché et de fromage Asiago râpé Kraft comme touche finale. En guise de garniture, le duo gagnant a créé un très original chutney aux pêches et aux branches de persil, savoureusement relevé de vinaigre de cidre de pomme Heinz.

arrow

Les FRUITS DE MER et le FROMAGE À LA CRÈME sont un mariage classique, comme dans une TREMPETTE AU CRABE ET AUX ARTICHAUTS. L’équipe gagnante a imaginé une astucieuse variation de cette combinaison et s’est assurée d’épater les papilles avec des SAVEURS et des TEXTURES AUDACIEUSES  , commente le chef Dane.

J’AI ÉTÉ SUPER IMPRESSIONNÉ PAR LES FABULEUX PROFILS DE SAVEUR DES FROMAGES Kraft.  Devan Rajkumar

img6
img

CHEF GAGNANT

Devan Rajkumar

  • CHEF, TRAITEUR, INSTRUCTEUR CULINAIRE ET VEDETTE DE LA TÉLÉ

  • INGRÉDIENT PRÉFÉRÉ : guanciale (joue de porc salé)

  • PRODUIT Kraft Heinz FAVORI :
    ketchup Heinz pour sa polyvalence et la dose d’umami qu’il offre.

img

BLOGUEUSE GAGNANTE

Aleshia Pinto

img

VITE UN SANDWICH AU FROMAGE FONDANT, POUR VOUS SEULEMENT

Nous vous proposons neuf recettes tendance et des suggestions pour confectionner votre propre sandwich personnalisé.

img
Ameliroex
Ameliroex