Modern Brunch Trends

Don’t miss out on the brunch boom!

Brunch is breaking foodservice boundaries, gliding from the formal-buffet standby to casual, flavour-forward menus. Today, brunches are global, comfort-driven, boozy and social. Classic omelet stations have been supplanted by Bloody Mary bars that offer trendy garnishes such as beef jerky, Sriracha shrimp and BBQ sliders. Eggs Benedict have been upgraded, adding toppings such as harissa hollandaise with a finish of za’atar spices.

Millennials are driving brunch innovation, looking to the weekend as a way to blow off steam, hang out and maybe experiment with global flavour mash-ups. The opportunity to capture this hugely important demographic is significant in this space. Another bonus to the modern brunch trend? It has doubled its potential, moving beyond Sundays into Saturdays. Datassential, which tracks menu trends, reports that the number of restaurants offering brunch grew by 14 percent from 2011 to 2015.

Adding the right menu mix is key to brunch-time success. We’ve pinpointed a few dishes that we think present opportunity for distinction, hitting the sweet spot of familiarity while adding just the right amount of flavour innovation.

3 Ways to Tap into Brunch

  • EXPAND
    YOUR HOURS

    Restaurants that already offer brunch could build business with simple changes such as expanded days or hours. As fewer consumers live 9-to-5 lifestyles, there is a growing interest in brunch fare on Saturdays, weekdays and in the afternoons or evenings.

  • EVOLVE
    YOUR MENU

    Consumers’ definitions of appropriate foods for breakfast or brunch are broadening. Adding regional or ethnic items can help build excitement and incremental sales.

  • ELEVATE YOUR
    BEVERAGE MIX

    Consider adding a wider variety of fresh fruits, juices or smoothies to boost consumer perceptions of freshness—and sales.

Source: Technomic, Inc.

3 Brunch Superstars

Smoked Salmon Benedict

Eggs Benedict

This brunch classic is getting serious attention. Chefs are switching out traditional Canadian bacon for chorizo or pork belly, for example. They’re swapping the standard English muffin for corn cakes, savoury biscuits or brioche.

But the easiest pathway to menu distinction, and the component getting the most play here, is the hollandaise.

Our chefs offer a few ideas, relying on Kraft Bistro Sauce for its creamy texture with undertones of Dijon mustard, horseradish and garlic.

CHIPOTLE BISTRO HOLLANDAISE
Kraft Bistro Sauce
chipotle
orange marmalade
MEDITERRANEAN BISTRO HOLLANDAISE
Kraft Bistro Sauce
sun-dried tomato
oregano
SRIRACHA BISTRO HOLLANDAISE
Kraft Bistro Sauce
Richardson Ultimate Sriracha Sauce
soy sauce

Benedict 2.0

I just worked up a Benedict that featured black bean cakes topped with poached eggs, pork carnitas and Kraft Bistro Sauce—a perfect upgrade for modern brunch menus.
Dane Higgins, Corporate Executive Chef
Buffalo Chicken Hash

Hashes

Traditionally served at breakfast with a base of potatoes topped with cheese, vegetables and eggs, hash offers a great platform for creative brunch-friendly dishes. Comforting, filling and familiar, the condiments served with the hash offer one of the best ways to create signature brunch experiences. Modern brunch is all about the sociable, shareable vibe.

Consider adding a ketchup bar to let yours guests choose from customized ketchups—perfect for modern hashes or any other potato-based brunch dish.

FIVE SIGNATURE FLAVOURED KETCHUPS
Heinz Ketchup + harissa
Heinz Ketchup + Kraft BarBQ Sauce
Heinz Ketchup + curry powder
Heinz Ketchup + ginger
Heinz Ketchup + Richardson Ultimate Sriracha Sauce

Hash 2.0

I recently played with hash in our kitchens here and landed on this: roasted red potatoes tossed with pastrami, grilled onions, Richardson Ultimate Smoky Barbecue Sauce and a fried egg on top.
Dane Higgins, Corporate Executive Chef
Chorizo & Egg Breakfast Tacos

Brunch Tacos

For modern brunches, tacos offer the perfect bridge between breakfast and lunch…and between familiar and adventurous. A hit with millennials, tacos are the new breakfast sandwiches. Chefs today are looking beyond traditional Latin builds and saying “anything goes” when it comes to tacos: eclectic, global mash-up, veg-centric—all find a perfect home here.

The sauce on a taco is what makes it craveable. Our chefs devised a few creative signature sauces that work their magic when drizzled over a brunch taco.

SERRANO-RANCH TACO SAUCE
Philadelphia Cream Cheese
Kraft Rancher’s Choice Dressing
serrano peppers
SPICY CILANTRO TACO SAUCE
Philadelphia Cream Cheese
fresh cilantro
lime zest
hot sauce
GOCHUJANG TACO SAUCE
Philadelphia Cream Cheese
milk
gochujang

ON THE HORIZON

Look out for chilaquiles, the next iteration of Latin-themed breakfast/brunch items. These “breakfast nachos” see fried tortilla chips and red or green salsa simmered until the flavors meld. Queso fresco, a fried egg and maybe avocado slices finish this craveable dish. They’re getting lots of play on menus in the U.S., so much that they’re poised to take the torch from breakfast burritos and tacos.

5 Easy Ways to Update the Classic Brunch Bagel

Bagels and cream cheese go together like brunch and Sundays. Modern cream-cheese-and-bagel builds take very little labour and are endlessly customizable. Start with Philadelphia Cream Cheese, the standard-bearer of quality and consistency.

CANADA’S MOST LOVED KETCHUP
Kraftworks - Sign Up

Tendances du brunch contemporain

Ne ratez pas la flambée du brunch!

Le brunch fait tomber les frontières du service alimentaire en passant du buffet traditionnel aux menus décontractés axés sur les saveurs. Aujourd'hui, les brunchs sont réconfortants, bien arrosés, conviviaux et inspirés des saveurs du monde. Les stations d'omelettes classiques ont été remplacées par des comptoirs à Bloody Mary qui offrent des garnitures dernier cri comme de la charqui, des crevettes sriracha et des mini-burgers barbecue. Les œufs bénédictine ont été revisités en ajoutant des garnitures comme de la sauce hollandaise à l'harissa rehaussée d'épices zaatar.

La génération Y réinvente le brunch et voit le week-end comme le moment pour décompresser, passer du temps avec des amis et essayer différentes saveurs du monde. L'occasion de pénétrer le marché de cet important segment démographique prend tout son sens ici. Un autre avantage de la tendance des brunchs contemporains? Les brunchs ont doublé leur potentiel en ne se limitant plus aux samedis et aux dimanches. Datassential, qui suit les tendances des menus, révèle que le nombre de restaurants qui offrent le brunch a augmenté de 14 % de 2011 à 2015.

L'élaboration d'un menu diversifié est le facteur clé de la réussite du brunch. Nous avons sélectionné quelques plats qui, selon nous, vous donneront l'occasion de vous démarquer en restant classique, tout en ajoutant la bonne dose d'innovation sur le plan des saveurs.

Trois façons de tirer parti des brunchs

  • AUGMENTEZ VOZ
    HEURES DE SERVICE

    Les restaurants qui servent déjà le brunch peuvent accroître leur clientèle en apportant de petits changements, comme en prolongeant les heures ou les jours de service. Puisqu'il y a peu de consommateurs qui ont un mode de vie de 9 à 5, un intérêt croissant s'est développé pour les brunchs du samedi, des jours de semaine, d'après-midi ou du soir.

  • ÉLABOREZ
    VOTRE MENU

    La définition d'aliments appropriés pour le déjeuner ou le brunch varie grandement selon le consommateur. L'ajout de produits régionaux ou internationaux peut susciter l'enthousiasme et générer des ventes supplémentaires.

  • RAFFINEZ VOTRE
    MENU DE BOISSONS

    Envisagez d'ajouter une plus grande variété de fruits frais, de jus ou de boissons fouettées pour renforcer la perception de fraîcheur et stimuler les ventes.

Source: Technomic, Inc.

Trois grandes vedettes du brunch

Œufs bénédictine au saumon fume

Œufs bénédictine

Ce grand classique du brunch gagne en popularité. Les chefs remplacent maintenant le traditionnel bacon canadien par du chorizo ou du flanc de porc, par exemple. Ils remplacent le sempiternel muffin anglais par des gâteaux de maïs, des biscuits savoureux ou des brioches.

Mais la façon la plus simple de proposer un menu qui se démarque réside dans la sauce hollandaise, un élément qui prend toute son importance ici.

Nos chefs vous donnent quelques idées et misent sur la sauce Bistro Kraft pour sa texture crémeuse aux goûts de moutarde de Dijon, de raifort et d'ail.

SAUCE HOLLANDAISE AU CHIPOTLE BISTRO
sauce Bistro Kraft
chipotle
marmalade d'orange
SAUCE HOLLANDAISE À LA MeDITERRANeENNE BISTRO
sauce Bistro Kraft
tomates séchées au soleil
origan
SAUCE HOLLANDAISE SRIRACHA BISTRO
sauce Bistro Kraft
sauce sriracha ultime Richardson
sauce soya

Bénédictine 2.0

J'ai élaboré un plat d'œufs bénédictine fait de gâteaux aux haricots noirs garnis d'œufs pochés, de carnitas et de sauce Bistro Kraft – il s'agit de produits gagnants pour les menus du brunch contemporain.
Dane Higgins, chef exécutif d'entreprise
Pommes de terre rissolées au poulet Buffalo

Pommes de terre rissolées

Traditionnellement servies au déjeuner et faites à base de pommes de terre garnies de fromage, de légumes et d'œufs, les pommes de terre rissolées constituent une base intéressante pour les plats d'un brunch convivial. Réconfortants, satisfaisants et familiers, les condiments qui accompagnent les pommes de terre rissolées constituent l'une des meilleures façons de créer des brunchs distinctifs. Le brunch contemporain est synonyme de convivialité et de partage. Envisagez d'ajouter un comptoir à ketchup pour laisser vos invités choisir des ketchups personnalisés qui accompagnent merveilleusement bien les pommes de terre rissolées réinventées ou tout autre plat de brunch à base de pommes de terre.

CINQ KETCHUPS SAVOUREUX
Ketchup Heinz + harissa
Ketchup Heinz + sauce BBQ Kraft
Ketchup Heinz + poudre de cari
Ketchup Heinz + gingembre
Ketchup Heinz + sauce sriracha ultime Richardson

Pommes de terre rissolées 2.0

Récemment, je me suis amusé à réinventer les pommes de terre rissolées dans nos cuisines et j'ai préparé ce qui suit : pommes de terre rouges rôties avec pastrami, oignons grillés, sauce barbecue ultime à saveur de fumée Richardson et un œuf poêlé sur le dessus.
Dane Higgins, chef exécutif d'entreprise
Tacos du matin au chorizo et aux œufs

Tacos pour le brunch

Pour les brunchs contemporains, les tacos constituent le parfait intermédiaire entre le déjeuner et le dîner… et ils sont à la fois réconfortants et exotiques. Très prisés par la génération Y, les tacos sont les nouveaux sandwichs du déjeuner. Aujourd'hui, les chefs vont au-delà des mets latins traditionnels et savent que les tacos offrent une foule de possibilités : éclectiques, mélange de saveurs du monde, abondance de légumes – tous y trouvent leur compte.

Le secret réside dans la sauce qui rehausse le taco. Nos chefs ont élaboré quelques sauces innovatrices qui ajoutent beaucoup de saveur aux tacos pour le brunch.

SAUCE POUR TACOS SERRANO
fromage à la crème Philadelphia
vinaigrette Campagne Kraft
piments serrano
SAUCE POUR TACOS ÉPICÉE À LA CORIANDRE
fromage à la crème Philadelphia
coriandre fraîche
zeste de lime
sauce piquante
SAUCE POUR TACOS GOCHUJANG
fromage à la crème Philadelphia
lait
gochujang

À l'horizon

Misez sur les chilaquiles, la prochaine itération des composants des brunchs ou des déjeuners de style latin. Ces « nachos du déjeuner » sont faits de croustilles tortillas frites et de salsa rouge ou verte mijotées jusqu'à ce que les saveurs se marient. Du queso fresco (fromage frais), un œuf poêlé et des tranches d'avocat complètent parfaitement ce plat irrésistible. Les chilaquiles se trouvent de plus en plus sur les menus aux États-Unis. Tellement, qu'ils sont sur le point de reprendre le flambeau des tacos et des burritos du déjeuner.

Cinq façons simples de revisiter le bagel classique du brunch

Les bagels et le fromage à la crème vont de pair comme les brunchs le dimanche. Les bagels au fromage à la crème contemporains sont très faciles à préparer, et vous pouvez les personnaliser à l'infini. Commencez par du fromage à la crème Philadelphia, l'emblème de la qualité et de la constance.

Commencez par ici Même si les garnitures sont votre signature, c