Comfort Rules


Comfort food sells. Here's how to keep it fresh while delivering on its promise of nostalgia and tradition.

"Restaurants that stay open forever and a day typically specialize in comfort food dishes," says Maeve Webster, senior director of Datassential. "It's feel-good fare and good value, and comfort food makes consumers feel satiated on every level." The challenge is to make your comfort food outshine their mama's meatloaf and grandma's Sunday stew. Give it culinary edge, but keep it familiar. "Try these comfort food recipes," says Trevor Williams, corporate sous chef for Kraft Foodservice. "We developed them to satisfy your non-foodie customers while adding just enough originality in flavour and format to make it interesting for your patrons who seek more adventure on the plate."

Clam Chowder "Pot Pie"

This recipe elevates a home-style bowl of chowder to a memorable entrée. Cornbread replaces pastry, keeping the profile rustic and pairing perfectly with the flavours in the chowder. "We add Philadelphia Light Cream Cheese Spread to give it that chowder reference of thick and creamy without weighing it down," says Chef Williams.

Alternate idea: instead of cornbread on top, go with a buttermilk biscuit; replace cod with haddock or bay scallops

Sweet Potato Shepherd's Pie

Sweet Potato Shepherd's Pie Healthy Living

"English comfort foods that celebrate the pub culture of eating out and drinking are making their mark on menus," says Datassential's Webster. "Diners are looking for twists on those pub classics." Our chefs deliver a better-for-you twist with an on-trend ingredient. According to Datassential, sweet potatoes have enjoyed significant growth over the last four years. Philadelphia Light Cream Cheese Spread adds creaminess to the sweet potatoes and Kraft Calorie-Wise Zesty Italian Dressing deepens the flavour in the meat.

Alternate idea: replace the sweet potato with another root vegetable, like kohlrabi or turnip

Individual Beef & Marsala Pot Pies

Hearty and flavourful best describe this savoury pie. Marsala wine adds a touch of nutty sweetness. Bull's-Eye Bold Original Barbecue Sauce fortifies the savoury flavours. "It's also great with the beefiness of the shank," says Chef Williams. "This recipe uses a value cut of meat, and the barbecue sauce stands up to its big flavours really well."

Alternate idea: use a beef chuck roast instead of the shank

Creamy Herbed Chicken Pot Pie

Serve a comfort food classic in this charming individual serving. This recipe offers nostalgia and familiarity to your diners. Our chefs whisk low-sodium chicken broth with Philadelphia Herb & Garlic Cream Cheese Spread, which not only thickens the sauce beautifully, but adds great flavour to the pot pie.

Alternate idea: make it into a gratin by replacing the pie crust with a blend of seasoned breadcrumbs and Kraft 100% Grated Parmesan Cheese

Scalloped Potato Gratin

This recipe serves up a rich, satisfying comfort food side dish. For an easy, super-creamy cheese sauce, our chefs combine Velveeta Cheese with Philadelphia Light Cream Cheese Spread. "Philly raises the tang and punch in the Velveeta, and the cheese clings to the potatoes beautifully," says Chef Williams.

Other idea: add Kraft 100% Grated Parmesan Cheese to set the gratin

Reuben Soup

A clever take on the sandwich of the moment, this Reuben soup delivers those classic, much-loved flavours, but with a slightly mellower finish. Creamy, rich Kraft Thousand Island Dressing ties it all together perfectly.

Alternate idea: switch out the sauerkraut with finely chopped cabbage and carrot

BBQ Chicken Bowl

Our chefs layer comfort, flavour and texture in this eye-popping dish. Mashed sweet potatoes are silky and smooth, thanks to a blending of Philadelphia Brick Cream Cheese with half-and-half. Chipotle peppers add smoke and heat. Next, shredded roast chicken tossed in Kraft Regular BarBQ Sauce pulls in a sweet and spicy dimension.

Alternate idea: use the BBQ chicken and coleslaw in a wrap

How do you combine the mega-trend of comfort food with an on-the-go platform? Ask That Pie Place, a wildly successful fast-casual concept in Atlanta, Georgia, that sells made-to-order savoury and sweet pies. Fillings are prepped ahead of time and chilled, individual pastry shells are rolled out and ready to go. Customers place their orders and watch their pies get filled and pinched closed. The pies are then baked to a golden brown in less than three minutes. That Pie Place sells about 2,400 pies a week. Eight-ounce savoury pies sell at $5.49 U.S.

Operator’s Challenge

"When we first opened, we were making a lot of different sauces to go with different pies, but it was not practical. We couldn't keep up. We needed one ready-to-go signature sauce that worked on a number of savoury pies."

Kraft Bistro Sauce
Back-of-House Solution

"A chef-friend introduced me to the Bistro Sauce. We never looked back. It's a well-rounded sauce that complements so many different proteins. Bistro has a mustard base with a bit of garlic, bit of tomato and a nice balance of sweet with spicy. It's great with roast beef, salmon and chicken. We go through a few cases a week. I don't embellish it at all. It's perfect as-is."

Todd Kazenske, Executive Chef, That Pie Place
Cordon Bleu Pie
Best Seller

Out of more than 20 savoury pies, the Chicken Cordon Bleu is among That Pie Place's top three sellers. Sporting smoked ham, Swiss cheese and chicken, it's served with their "signature" dipping sauce—Kraft Bistro Sauce.

Looking for More Comfort? Get recipes here
Kraftworks - Sign Up

Springproduce

Les mets réconfortants s'imposent.

Springproduce

Les mets réconfortants sont rentables. Voici comment les renouveler tout en conservant leur cachet de nostalgie et de tradition

« Les restaurants aux heures d'ouverture tardives servent ordinairement des mets réconfortants, déclare Maeve Webster, directrice principale, Datassential. Une table réconfortante et bon marché satisfait les consommateurs à plusieurs niveaux. » Le défi est de rendre les plats réconfortants plus modernes que le pain de viande de maman et le rôti du dimanche de grand-maman. Donnez à vos plats de la nouveauté tout en les gardant familiers. « Essayez ces recettes réconfortantes, de dire Trevor Williams, sous-chef pour le Service alimentaire Kraft. Nous les avons élaborées pour satisfaire les fines bouches, tout en y ajoutant une pointe d'originalité côté saveur et présentation pour attirer les clients plus aventureux. »

Clam Chowder “Pot Pie”

Chaudrée de palourdes de style tourtière

Cette recette élève le bol de chaudrée de palourdes maison au rang de plat mémorable. Vous remplacez la pâte feuilletée par du pain de maïs pour garder le profil rustique du plat et parce que les saveurs s'accordent à merveille avec la chaudrée. « Nous ajoutons du fromage à la crème Philadelphia léger pour rendre la texture de la chaudrée épaisse et crémeuse sans l'alourdir », explique le chef Williams.

Autre idée : remplacez le pain de maïs par un biscuit chaud au babeurre, et la morue par de l'aiglefin ou des pétoncles de baie.

Sweet Potato Shepherd's Pie

Pâté chinois aux patates douces Healthy Living

« Le bon vieux plat anglais réconfortant qui célèbre la culture de pub gagne en popularité sur les menus, déclare madame Webster de Datassential. En effet, les dîneurs recherchent ces classiques de pub, mais repensés. » Nos chefs ont trouvé une manière de transformer la recette en un plat santé grâce à un ingrédient populaire, les patates douces. Selon Datassential, celles-ci ont connu un essor considérable ces quatre dernières années. Le fromage à la crème Philadelphia léger ajoute une texture crémeuse aux patates douces et la vinaigrette Italienne piquante Calorie-Wise Kraft imprègne la saveur dans la viande.

Autre idée : remplacez les patates douces par un autre légume racine, comme le kohlrabi ou le panais.

Petites tourtières au bœuf et au marsala

Ce pâté est consistant et goûteux, et le marsala lui donne une note douce de noisette. La sauce barbecue Bull's-Eye Bold Original renforce les arômes. « Elle est délicieuse aussi avec la chair de la viande », affirme le chef Williams. Cette recette comporte des coupes de viande bon marché, et la sauce barbecue relève le tout en y allant de ses saveurs robustes.

Autre idée : remplacez la viande par un rôti de palette.

Pâté au poulet crémeux aux herbes

Servez ce plat réconfortant classique en charmantes portions individuelles. Cette recette évoque la nostalgie chez les dîneurs auxquels ce plat est familier. Nos chefs ont fouetté un bouillon de poulet faible en sodium avec du fromage à la crème à tartiner Philadelphia Herbes et ail, qui non seulement épaissit magnifiquement la sauce, mais ajoute un bouquet de saveurs sensationnelles au pâté au poulet.

Autre idée : ajoutez du fromage 100 % Parmesan râpé Kraft pour faire tenir le gratin.

Gratin de pommes de terre

Cette recette donne un plat secondaire réconfortant, riche et satisfaisant, pour lequel nos chefs créent une sauce au fromage facile, hyper-crémeuse, en combinant du fromage fondu Velveeta et du fromage à la crème Philadelphia léger. « Le fromage Philadelphia ajoute du piquant au Velveeta, et la sauce au fromage enrobe les pommes de terre à merveille », ajoute le chef Williams.

Autre idée : ajoutez du fromage 100 % Parmesan râpé Kraft pour faire tenir le gratin.

Soupe Reuben

Une astuce pour le sandwich de l'heure, cette soupe Reuben exhale les arômes classiques très appréciés, avec un fini légèrement plus moelleux. La vinaigrette Mille-Îles Kraft lie à la perfection tous les ingrédients.

Autre idée : remplacez la choucroute par du chou et des carottes hachés finement.

Bol de poulet sauce barbecue

Nos chefs ont étagé réconfort, saveurs et texture dans ce plat époustouflant. Les patates douces en purée sont soyeuses et lisses grâce au mélange du fromage à la crème Philadelphia en brique. Des piments chipotle ajoutent un arôme de fumée et de piquant. Puis le poulet rôti effiloché, remué dans de la sauce BarBQ Kraft ordinaire, apporte une dimension douce et épicée.

Alternate idea: enroulez du poulet barbecue et de la salade de chou pour préparer un sandwich roulé.

Comment concilier la mégatendance des aliments réconfortants avec votre plate-forme de plats à emporter? Posez la question à That Pie Place, établissement de restauration rapide qui vend des pâtés et tartes prêts à emporter et connaît une réussite fracassante à Atlanta, en Georgie. Les farces sont préparées d'avance et refroidies; les croûtes individuelles sont abaissées et prêtes à utiliser. Les clients passent leur commande et regardent le cuisinier farcir la pâte et la refermer. Les pâtés et tartes sont ensuite enfournés, et après 3 minutes ils ressortent du four arborant une belle couleur dorée tirant sur le brun. That Pie Place vend 2 400 tartes et pâtés par semaine. Un pâté en croûte de huit onces coûte 5,49 $US.

Operator’s Challenge

« Lorsque nous avons ouvert nos portes, nous préparions des tas de sauces différentes pour donner un cachet à nos tartes et pâtés en croûte, mais ce n'était pas pratique. Nous n'arrivions pas à suivre. Nous avions besoin d'une sauce griffée prête à utiliser qui conviendrait à nos nombreux produits. »

Kraft Bistro Sauce
Back-of-House Solution

« Un chef et ami m'a fait connaître la sauce Bistro. Nous y sommes restés fidèles. C'est une sauce tout-aller qui peut accommoder n'importe quelle viande. La sauce Bistro contient une base de moutarde, un peu d'ail, un peu de tomate et un juste équilibre de goût doux et épicé. Elle fait des merveilles avec le rôti de bœuf, le saumon ou le poulet. Nous vidons plusieurs caisses de sauce Bistro par semaine. Je n'ai pas à l'améliorer. Je la sers telle quelle, parce qu'elle est parfaite! »

Todd Kazenske, Executive Chef, That Pie Place
Cordon Bleu Pie
Best Seller

Parmi plus de 20 pâtés en croûte, le pâté de poulet Cordon Bleu figure parmi les trois meilleurs vendeurs de That Pie Place. Des portions généreuses de jambon fumé, de fromage suisse et de poulet sont servies avec une trempette griffée..., la sauce Bistro Kraft.

À l’affût d’autres recettes? Obtenir les recettes ici >