Say Cheese for
your Menu Makeover

 

Cheese can take any menu from tired to terrific. For every daypart and every course, from apps to sides, from salads to sandwiches and from mains to desserts, cheese is the chameleon king of ingredients, taking different forms to suit every meal occasion.

That’s just what you’d expect of a food with a proud history in Canada of more than four centuries.1

Kraft cheese changed up the cheese world almost as soon as it was introduced in 1903, when James. L. Kraft, along with his trusted horse Paddy, put his name on the side of a rented cart and began a wholesale cheese business in Chicago.

Cheese is the ultimate versatile ingredient. It adds visual appeal, texture and flavour, and it can be used across all menu and dayparts. Cheese literally sits everywhere on a menu, making it a staple that can add excitement—and profits.

It also continues to benefit from great consumer appeal. Seventy-five percent2 of restaurant customers are seeking greater menu variety, and cheese is an excellent way to deliver both variety and creativity. Dishes featuring cheese as the central ingredient enjoy consistent popularity across Canada.

Cheese is most commonly mentioned in conjunction with sandwiches, burgers and salads, with cheddar being the most common across all three categories. But it’s so versatile, it should not be relegated to the more conventional spots on your menu.

With Canadians’ growing interest in food3 and eating occasions, cheese is ready to break out and take a more prominent place across your entire menu.

By making strategic menu makeovers, you can give cheese the place it deserves, in all meals and dayparts.

Limitless Power of Cheese

Canadians don’t like missing their breakfasts. Increasingly, they’re reaching for breakfast sandwiches and bagels to satisfy their cravings.

Breakfast sandwiches are the top growing food, up 9% vs. the previous year, and bagels are up 3% over the year before.5

Cheese, in the form of cream cheese as well as cheese slices, is becoming a staple of Canadians’ away-from-home breakfasts.

81%

Time-stressed Canadians love to grab their breakfasts away from home, with 81% sourcing breakfast from a restaurant at least once a month. The morning meal daypart (including snacking) is growing at +4%.6

Shake up your breakfast menu with some variations on consumer favourites.
Work your sides, Apps and Salads

Cheese can help you exercise more options by adding it on top, inside, or alongside other menu items, such as your apps, sides and salads, to increase your selling opportunities.

Over half of Canadians enjoy sharing their dishes, whether sides or small plates.

"Warm, cheese-based dips are wonderful for sharing,” says Kraft Corporate Chef Kira Smith, who says on-trend operators should consider the shareability factor on their menus.

"Philly cream cheese is an ideal canvas upon which to build flavour, while adding shredded cheese provides even more flavour, texture, and can provide the ‘gooey, stringy pull’ of natural cheese. Not to be forgotten, processed Cheez Whiz Cheese Spreads & Velveeta Processed Cheese Product can form the base of classics such as chile con queso and queso, and can be used as cost‑saving
elements
that also
provide
creamy
texture
and
retro.”

— Chef Kira Smith

Chef Kira Smith
Get Grilled

The first official grilled cheese recipe recorded was in 1902, using just a couple of pieces of stale bread, a slice of cheese and a sprinkle of salt and paprika.8 Grilled cheese has come a long way since then. It’s become a palette on which creative operators can design the ultimate sandwich.

Upscale your grilled cheese or add a twist that will keep your guests excited!

This is a grilled cheese with cheddar, chicken, bacon and baby spinach on regular whole wheat bread, with Kraft Creamy Caesar Dressing on the outside, and then pressed in a waffle maker.

---------

This colourful, piled-high grilled cheese features green and red peppers, onions, sliced ham, eggs and Kraft Extra Cheddar Old English Cheese Slices.

------------

This classic processed cheese grilled cheese, says Chef Kira, is incredibly decadent—the herbed Philly takes it over the top with it’s unexpected flavour and creaminess.

------------
These grilled cheese variations will add on-trend excitement to any menu:

“Decadent and craveable, a signature macaroni and cheese can entice guests. Call out the romance on your dish, be it a variety of cheeses, rich lobster, crispy pancetta, spicy habanero, or a buttery, herbed-panko crust…whatever makes it unique,” says Chef Kira.

“Enrich mashed or twice baked potatoes with cream cheese and shredded cheese—just one

example of how to create endless opportunity for introducing different flavours within a rich,creamy texture. Pizzas, pastas, burgers, sandwiches…the list is endless of where cheese can add a premium touch.”

Click here for great mashup inspiration

Decadent mixture of cheese and ingredients for endless flavour .

They are more likely to eat dessert when they want to treat or reward themselves (72%) or are feeling happy (52%). In addition, 36% are driven by a feeling of nostalgia for desserts. Dessert occasions are also influenced by the dining party, the report says: 42% of full-service restaurant desserts and 31% of limited-service restaurant desserts are shared.9 You won’t want to miss out on your share of the dessert pie!

Chocolate Stout

Chocolate Stout “Cupcakes” with Philly Buttercream Frosting

There are the classics, of course—cheesecake, tiramisu with mascarpone, carrot cake with cream cheese icing, apple pie with a slice of cheddar.

“But you can certainly venture into other areas with cheese by incorporating a potentially unexpected flavour—like a touch of goat cheese in your cheesecake for its distinct tanginess, or, in an unexpected medium—like adding some shredded cheddar cheese to your apple crumble topping for a subtle hint of flavour.

Cheese can also help you make the most of seasonal dessert opportunities. How about an Oktoberfest menu, starting with a cheddar and beer dip with soft pretzels and ending with a Chocolate Stout Cupcake with Cream Cheese Icing? Now that’s sweet!

Inspired? We thought so. Click here to learn more about how our full line up of versatile and iconic cheese brands can enhance all the day parts in your menu.
01. Creativity / innovation.

New varietals of cheese can add a unique or premium touch without introducing a lot of added complexity. For example, Kraft Habanero Heat Cheese made with both habanero and jalapeño chilies adds both a visual change of pace and a hit of heat that answers the call from consumers who are increasingly interested in spicy foods and ingredients.

02. Cost-saving.

You can create several different dishes with the addition of one ingredient. Since cheese is such a versatile ingredient, you can use it on a variety of items—which is great for minimizing waste. For example, consider the potential of cheddar cheese, which is a perennial favourite in Canada…omelettes, breakfast skillets, crostini, nachos, sandwich melts, wraps, mac’n’cheese, pizza, salads, That is a lot of bang for your buck!

03. Perception of a more upscale menu.

Cheese is a premium product. There is a ‘wholesome’ quality to natural cheese that lends itself to a perception of premium, especially given consumer interest in more natural ingredients.

04.Flavour profile creation.

Cheese helps you establish a flavour goal for your menu items, for instance highlighting mellow, nutty, subtle, or bold. A cheeseburger takes on an entirely different profile when topped with a spicy cheese.

Inspired? We thought so. Click here to learn more about how our full line up of versatile and iconic cheese brands can enhance all the day parts in your menu.
  1. Dairy Goodness, http://www.dairygoodness.ca/cheese/the-history-of-cheese/cheese-in-canada;
  2. Canadian Dairy Information Centre, http://cheese-fromage.agr.gc.ca/index.cfm?lang=en&menupos=1;
  3. Technomic Menu Monitor 2014;
  4. Technomic, Canadian Consumer Breakfast Trend Report, https://blogs.technomic.com/looking-for-better-value-at-breakfast/;
  5. NPD Crest, 52 weeks p/e May 2014;
  6. NPD/Crest YE November 2013;
  7. Technomic Canada, Canadian Starters, Small Plates & Sides Consumer Trend Report;
  8. http://www.foodtimeline.org/foodsandwiches.html
  9. Technomic Inc., 2013, The Canadian Dessert Consumer Trend Report
Top Cheese Flavours

Vive le fromage pour
transformer votre menu.

 

Le fromage peut faire passer n’importe quel menu de fatigué à fantastique. Quels que soient la partie du jour ou le service du repas, des hors-d’œuvre aux plats d’accompagnement, des salades aux sandwichs et des plats principaux aux desserts, le fromage est le roi des ingrédients polyvalents, se métamorphosant pour convenir à toute occasion de repas.

Voilà bien ce que vous êtes en droit d'attendre d'un aliment qui figure fièrement au menu culinaire des Canadiens depuis plus de quatre siècles.1

Kraft cheese changed up the cheese world almost as soon as it was introduced in 1903, when James. L. Kraft, along with his trusted horse Paddy, put his name on the side of a rented cart and began a wholesale cheese business in Chicago.

Le fromage est l'ingrédient polyvalent par excellence. Il ajoute attrait visuel, texture et saveur, et s'intègre aisément à tous les menus et repas de la journée. En fait, le fromage trouve sa place au menu pratiquement partout, et constitue un ingrédient de base aussi attrayant que profitable.

Il exerce toujours un attrait marqué auprès des consommateurs. Soixante-quinze pour cent2 des clients des restaurants souhaitent plus de variété au menu et c'est pourquoi le fromage constitue une excellente façon de faire preuve de variété et de créativité. Les mets dont l'ingrédient principal est le fromage jouissent toujours d'une grande popularité partout au Canada2.

Le fromage est le plus souvent associé aux sandwichs, hamburgers et salades, le cheddar étant le fromage le plus populaire dans ces trois catégories. Mais comme il se prête à bien des usages, le fromage ne devrait pas être relégué aux options plus conventionnelles sur votre menu.

Devant l'intérêt croissant des Canadiens pour la cuisine3 et les occasions de consommation, le fromage est prêt à s'imposer dans l'ensemble de votre menu.

En apportant des transformations stratégiques à votre menu, vous donnez au fromage la place qui lui revient, à tous les repas, à toute heure.

Limitless Power of Cheese

Les Canadiens n'aiment pas rater leur petit déjeuner. De plus en plus, ils optent pour des sandwichs déjeuners ou des bagels pour combler leur appétit.

Les sandwichs déjeuners connaissent la plus forte croissance, jusqu'à 9 % par rapport à l'année précédente, alors que les bagels affichent une croissance d’au plus 3 % par rapport à l'année précédente5.

À la crème ou en tranches, le fromage est en train de devenir un incontournable des petits déjeuners hors foyer des Canadiens.

81%

Les Canadiens pressés par le temps se délectent des petits déjeuners hors foyer; 81 % achètent leur petit déjeuner au restaurant au moins une fois par mois. Le repas matinal (incluant la collation) connaît une croissance de 4 %.6

Shake up your breakfast menu with some variations on consumer favourites.
Work your sides, Apps and Salads

Pour accroître vos options, ajoutez le fromage sur le dessus, à l'intérieur ou sur le côté des autres mets au menu tels que hors-d’œuvre, salades et plats d'accompagnement. Plus de choix, plus de ventes!

Over half of Canadians enjoy sharing their dishes, whether sides or small plates.

« Les trempettes chaudes à base de fromage se prêtent fort bien au partage », déclare la chef d'entreprise Kira Smith de Kraft; selon elle, les exploitants qui suivent les tendances devraient considérer l'aspect
« partage ».

« Le fromage à la crème Philadelphia représente une toile de fond toute choisie pour rehausser la saveur, alors que l'ajout de fromage râpé améliore le goût et la texture tout en apportant la consistance fondante et filandreuse du fromage naturel. Et rappelez-vous que la tartinade Cheez Whiz et le produit de fromage fondu Velveeta peuvent constituer la base de mets classiques tels que chile con queso et queso fundido; vous pouvez aussi les utiliser comme des
aliments économiques donnant une
texture
crémeuse et
un charme
rétro. »

— Chef Kira Smith

Chef Kira Smith
Get Grilled

La première recette connue de sandwich au fromage fondant remonte à 1902; elle comprenait deux tranches de pain rassis, une tranche de fromage et une pincée de sel et de paprika8. Mais ces sandwichs ont fait beaucoup de chemin depuis, comme en témoigne la créativité irrésistible de certains exploitants.

Upscale your grilled cheese or add a twist that will keep your guests excited!

Ce sandwich grillé au fromage est composé de cheddar, poulet, bacon et jeunes épinards sur du pain de blé entier ordinaire, arrosé de vinaigrette César crémeuse Kraft, et pressé dans un gaufrier.

---------

Ce sandwich au fromage fondant coloré et bien garni comprend poivrons vert et rouge, oignons, jambon tranché, œufs et tranches de cheddar Old English extra fort Kraft.

------------

Ce sandwich classique à base de fromage fondant est tout à fait jouissif, nous avoue la chef Kira; composé de fromage à la crème Philadelphia aux fines herbes, sa saveur surprenante et son onctuosité vous feront fondre de plaisir.

------------
These grilled cheese variations will add on-trend excitement to any menu:

« Jouissif et irrésistible, un macaroni au fromage maison met l'eau à la bouche. Oubliez les anciennes recettes, intégrez divers fromages, du homard succulent, de la pancetta croustillante, du fromage habanero piquant, ou une croûte au beurre à base de chapelure japonaise… laissez aller votre créativité », insiste la chef Kira.

« Des pommes de terre en purée ou au four enrichies de fromage à la crème et de fromage râpé ne sont qu'un exemple des différentes saveurs à la texture riche et crémeuse que vous pouvez créer pour gâter vos clients. Pizzas, pâtes, hamburgers, sandwichs… la liste des aliments auxquels le fromage ajoute une qualité supérieure est illimitée. »

Cliquez ici pour plus d'idées de mixage

Decadent mixture of cheese and ingredients for endless flavour .

Ces consommateurs sont plus enclins à manger un dessert quand ils veulent se gâter ou se récompenser (72 %), ou lorsqu'ils se sentent heureux (52 %)9. De plus, 36 % se laissent influencer par une certaine nostalgie de desserts9. Les dîners de fête constituent également une occasion de dessert : 42 % des desserts servis dans les restaurants à service complet et 31 % de ceux servis dans les restaurants à service restreint sont partagés entre les convives9. Vous ne voudrez sûrement pas abandonner votre part de tarte!

Chocolate Stout

« Petits gâteaux » chocolatés à la stout avec glaçage au Philadelphia

Évidemment, il y a aussi les desserts classiques : gâteau au fromage, tiramisu avec mascarpone, gâteau aux carottes avec glaçage au fromage à la crème, et l'incontournable tarte aux pommes garnie d'une tranche de cheddar.

« Mais personne ne vous empêche de tâter d'autres avenues avec le fromage en incorporant une saveur surprenante telle qu'un soupçon de fromage de chèvre au goût prononcé à votre gâteau au fromage, ou du cheddar râpé dans votre crumble aux pommes pour en accentuer la saveur. »

Le fromage peut aussi vous aider à tirer parti des desserts de saison. Que diriez-vous d'un menu Oktoberfest (Fête de la bière) commençant par une trempette cheddar et bière servie avec des bretzels tendres et se terminant par des petits gâteaux au chocolat et bière brune, recouverts d'un glaçage au fromage à la crème? Tout à fait irrésistible!

Inspired? We thought so. Click here to learn more about how our full line up of versatile and iconic cheese brands can enhance all the day parts in your menu.
01. Creativity / innovation.

De nouvelles variétés de fromage peuvent ajouter un soupçon d'originalité et de qualité sans trop de complications. Par exemple, le fromage habanero Kraft à base de piments habanero et jalapeno incorpore à la fois un changement visuel et une pointe de piquant pour répondre à l'intérêt croissant des consommateurs pour des aliments épicés.

02. Cost-saving.

L'ajout d'un seul ingrédient peut vous permettre de créer différents plats. Et comme le fromage est un ingrédient aux usages multiples, vous pourrez l'adapter à bien des mets... et réduire le gaspillage. Pensez par exemple au potentiel du cheddar, souvent servi en omelette, dans les poêlées, crostinis, nachos, sandwichs fondants, sandwichs roulés, macaroni au fromage, pizzas et salades. Vous en aurez pour votre argent!

03. Perception of a more upscale menu.

Le fromage est un produit de prestige. Doté d'une qualité santé, le fromage naturel se prête à une perception de valeur supérieure découlant de l'intérêt des consommateurs pour des ingrédients plus naturels.

04.Flavour profile creation.

Le fromage est un atout précieux lorsque vous souhaitez conférer un accent particulier à l'ensemble de votre menu comme un profil de goût velouté, subtil ou audacieux. Un hamburger au fromage présente un profil de saveur entièrement différent lorsqu’il est garni d'un fromage piquant.

Inspired? We thought so. Click here to learn more about how our full line up of versatile and iconic cheese brands can enhance all the day parts in your menu.
  1. Valeur des produits laitiers, www.dairygoodness.ca/cheese/the-history-of-cheese/cheese-in-canada;
  2. Centre canadien d'information laitière, www.cheese-fromage.agr.gc.ca/index.cfm?lang=en&menupos=1;
  3. Technomic Menu Monitor, 2014.;
  4. Technomic, Canadian Consumer Breakfast Trend Report, www.blogs.technomic.com/looking-for-better-value-at-breakfast/;
  5. NPD/Crest, 52 semaines se terminant en mai 2014.;
  6. NPD/Crest, année se terminant en novembre 2013.;
  7. Technomic Canada, Canadian Starters, Small Plates & Sides Consumer Trend Report;
  8. www.foodtimeline.org/foodsandwiches.html
  9. Technomic Inc., 2013, The Canadian Dessert Consumer Trend Report