Springproduce

Trending Steakhouse Favourites

Springproduce

Look to the steakhouse category for profitable menu ideas

According to Technomic, steakhouses are one of the fastest growing segments in foodservice.1 What’s fueling their growth, and how can you key into that trend? While institutions like Moishes in Montreal and Barberian’s in Toronto still draw in diners with their old-school, clubby charm, modern steakhouses are attracting younger diners with creative menus and updated decor. There’s a lot to glean from this trend’s success, whether you run a steakhouse, pub, tavern, grill—or simply a restaurant that serves a steak option and you want to up your game.

A smart menu strategy is to mine profitable ideas from the successful modern steakhouse. Datassential points out hallmark items that set this kind of menu apart, including sustainably sourced meat, innovative interpretations of classic steakhouse dishes, like re-imagined Caesar salads, and more affordable meat cuts, like flat iron and skirt steak.

Springproduce

THE STEAK EFFECT

67%

Canadians love steak—it appears on 67% of menus nationwide.2 A quick study of consumer insights illustrates how steak can help drive sales.

STEAK BOOSTS SALES

Steak can stimulate sales of other higher-margin items on the menu. Based on a foodservice study conducted in the U.S., a guest who orders steak is more likely to also order3

CASUAL DINING

FINE DINING

  • side dish

    93%

    91%
  • side salad

    37%

    41%
  • alcoholic beverage

    27%

    64%
  • dessert

    11%

    31%

STEAK DRIVES REPEAT BUSINESS3

48%

of consumers who order steak in a fine dining/upscale hotel establishment say they intend to revisit that restaurant

46%

of consumers who order steak in a casual dining restaurant plan to visit again

The average entrée price at Canadian steakhouses is $37.74. Fine dining restaurants charge around $8.25 more than casual dining restaurants.3

CAPITALIZE ON THE POWER OF STEAK

In an effort to stand out and be profitable, modern steakhouses are featuring steak in more cost-effective dishes.

You can successfully move steak from centre of the plate to bar bites, shareables, salads and sandwiches. Steak brings a premium feel to those categories and delivers the eating experience steak lovers look for.

Barry Miles, senior corporate chef, Kraft Foodservice

THE PROFIT IS ON THE SIDE

Side dishes play a crucial role in both profitability and innovation. “A sides menu is the difference between staying in business and going belly-up. Sides are where the profit lies,” says Paul Sorgule, MS, AAC, founder and former dean of the culinary arts program at Paul Smith’s College in Paul Smiths, N.Y., and principal at Harvest America Ventures, a restaurant consultancy. But modern diners want more than a baked potato. Offer delicious, memorable sides that steal the show.

SIDE DISHES

Make your mashed potatoes stand out with quick add-ins of cauliflower and Kraft Calorie-Wise Rancher’s Choice Dressing.

MONEY MATTERS

You can run a higher food cost percentage on steak and still end up with more gross profit to play with. A steak at a 50% cost allows more money after cost of goods than a boneless chicken breast that might be priced at a 32% cost.

Paul Sorgule, MS, AAC, founder and former dean of the culinary arts program at Paul Smith's College in Paul Smiths, N.Y.

4 Ways to Watch Your Margins

  • INVENTORY all steaks every day and balance against your POS sales abstracts to make sure none are walking out the door.
  • CUT YOUR OWN, if you can—scraps and less-desirable portions have built-in menu opportunities. And if you do cut your own steaks, always use a portion scale.
  • REMEMBER that temperature and moisture environments are critical for extending the life of beef. Since most restaurants can’t afford a dedicated cooler with ultraviolet lights to ward off certain bacteria or a temperature- and humidity-controlled dry age room, your steaks have a shelf life of three, maybe four days tops.
  • BIGGER isn’t always better. Although a 16-oz. strip steak sounds impressive, most people do not need that much protein and couldn’t afford to pay what you would need to charge. A 6- to 8-oz. steak is plenty—and easier to sell.

3 TAKES ON THE CLASSIC CAESAR SALAD

A steakhouse staple, Caesar is preferred by a staggering 71% of Canadian consumers.4 Modernize this standby and make it your signature.

  1. Technomic Canadian Consumer Insights 2015
  2. Technomic Canadian Menu Monitor, Q1 2015
  3. The NPD Group/CREST® year ending September 2014; study conducted in the U.S. foodservice market
  4. The Canadian Left Side of the Menu: Soup and Salad Consumer Trend Report, Technomic 2014
Kraftworks - Sign Up

Springproduce

Favoris des grilladeries

Springproduce

Consultez la catégorie des grilladeries pour des suggestions de menu rentables.

Selon Technomic, les grilladeries constituent l'un des segments des services alimentaires dont l’essor est le plus rapide1. Qu'est-ce qui favorise leur croissance et comment pouvez-vous profiter de cette tendance? Tandis que de véritables institutions telles que Moishes, à Montréal, et Barberian’s, à Toronto, attirent encore la clientèle en raison de leur charme rétro de club privé, les grilladeries modernes s'adressent à une clientèle plus jeune avec un menu plus inventif dans une ambiance moderne. Il y a beaucoup à apprendre du succès de cette tendance, que vous exploitiez une grilladerie, un pub, une taverne, une rôtisserie, ou simplement un restaurant affichant un bifteck à son menu, et que vous souhaitez aller de l'avant.

Une stratégie de menu intelligente consiste à puiser des idées rentables auprès des grilladeries modernes à succès. Datassential indique les caractéristiques qui distinguent ce genre de menu, incluant des viandes de source durable, des mets classiques réinventés, tels que la salade César, et des coupes de viande plus abordables, comme le bifteck de haut de palette ou de hampe.

Springproduce

L'EFFET BIFTECK

67%

Les Canadiens raffolent du bifteck, présent dans 67 % des menus de tout le pays2. Une étude sommaire d'observations sur les consommateurs révèle l'influence du bifteck sur la progression des ventes.

LE BIFTECK AUGMENTE LES VENTES

Le bifteck peut stimuler les ventes d'autres mets à forte marge sur le menu. Selon une étude des services alimentaires menée aux É.-U., un client qui commande un bifteck est aussi plus susceptible de commander3

RESTAURANT GASTRONOMIQUE

RESTAURANT DÉCONTRACTÉ

  • plat d'accompagnement

    93%

    91%
  • salade d'accompagnement

    37%

    41%
  • boisson alcoolisée

    27%

    64%
  • dessert

    11%

    31%

LE BIFTECK SUSCITE DES ACHATS RÉPÉTÉS3

48%

des consommateurs qui commandent un bifteck dans un restaurant gastronomique ou un hôtel de prestige déclarent avoir l'intention de revenir dans ce restaurant.

46%

des consommateurs qui commandent un bifteck dans un restaurant décontracté prévoient y retourner.

Dans les grilladeries canadiennes, il faut compter en moyenne 37,74 $ pour le plat principal. Dans les restaurants gastronomiques, le prix est environ 8,25 $ plus cher pour le plat principal que dans les restaurants décontractés3.

MISEZ SUR L'EFFET BIFTECK

Dans le but de se démarquer et d'être rentables, les grilladeries modernes affichent des biftecks sous des formes plus rentables.

Au lieu de présenter le bifteck en plat principal, offrez-le sous forme de bouchées, de plat à partager, de salade ou de sandwich. Le bifteck confère un accent haut de gamme à ces catégories et comble l'appétit des amateurs.

Barry Miles, chef de cuisine de l'entreprise principal, Service alimentaire Kraft

LE PROFIT VIENT EN ACCOMPAGNEMENT

Les mets d'accompagnement jouent un rôle essentiel en ce qui concerne la rentabilité et l'innovation. « Le menu des plats d'accompagnement établit la différence entre rentabilité et faillite. Ces plats constituent la source des profits, » déclare Paul Sorgule, MS, AAC, fondateur et ex-directeur du programme d'arts culinaires au Paul Smith’s College dans l'État de New-York, ainsi que président de Harvest America Ventures, une société d'expert-conseils en restauration. De nos jours, les convives ne se contentent plus d'une pomme de terre au four. Offrez plutôt des accompagnements délicieux et mémorables qui volent la vedette.

METS D'ACCOMPAGNEMENT

Préparez une purée de pommes de terre qui se remarque en ajoutant simplement du chou-fleur et de la vinaigrette Campagne Calorie-Wise Kraft.

L'ARGENT TOUJOURS L'ARGENT

Vous pouvez vous permettre un coût de revient plus élevé du bifteck et quand même obtenir un profit brut plus important. Un bifteck vendu à 50 % du coût de revient cède une marge de rentabilité plus importante qu'une poitrine de poulet désossée vendue à 32 % du coût de revient.

Paul Sorgule, MS, AAC, fondateur et ex-directeur du programme d'arts culinaires au Paul Smith's College dans l'État de New-York

façons de contrôler vos marges

  • DRESSEZ L'INVENTAIRE de tous les biftecks chaque jour et comparez le stock à vos ventes pour vous assurer qu'aucun bifteck ne disparaît incognito.
  • RAPPELEZ-VOUS que la température et le degré d'humidité du lieu de rangement sont essentiels pour prolonger la conservation du bœuf. Étant donné que la plupart des restaurants ne peuvent se permettre un meuble réfrigéré muni de rayons ultraviolets pour prévenir certaines bactéries, ou une salle d'affinage à sec à température et humidité contrôlées, la durée de conservation des biftecks ne dépasse pas trois ou quatre jours.
  • DÉCOUPEZ VOUS-MÊME, si vous le pouvez; vous vous rendrez compte que les restes et les parties moins alléchantes peuvent s'intégrer au menu sous d'autres formes. Assurez-vous toutefois d'utiliser une balance.
  • PLUS GROS n'est pas toujours synonyme de meilleur. Même si un contrefilet de 16 oz impressionne, rappelez-vous que la plupart des gens n'ont ni l'appétit ni les moyens financiers requis pour une telle pièce de viande. Un bifteck de 6 à 8 oz est bien suffisant... et plus facile
    à vendre.

UN CLASSIQUE SOUS TROIS FORMES

Aliment incontournable dans toutes les grilladeries, la César est la salade la plus appréciée de 71 % des consommateurs canadiens4. Modernisez-la en y apportant votre touche personnelle.

  1. Technomic Canadian Consumer Insights 2015
  2. Technomic Canadian Menu Monitor, Q1 2015
  3. The NPD Group/CREST® year ending September 2014; study conducted in the U.S. foodservice market
  4. The Canadian Left Side of the Menu: Soup and Salad Consumer Trend Report, Technomic 2014
L