Roasted Brussels &
Grilled Veggie Tacos

The Best Tacos in Town


Six awesome taco recipes for your menu


Tacos—the ultimate casual food with limitless potential. They’ve got more swagger than sandwiches and more street cred than burgers, but they still play within your customers’ safe zone. And from the back-of-house perspective, tacos answer a few operational needs beautifully. “With today’s demand for fun global builds and ‘mash-ups,’ tacos are a great place to both cross-utilize ingredients and also use up leftover inventory in creative ways,” says Barry Miles, senior corporate chef for Kraft Foodservice. “They help with food cost because you can use up ingredients costed out for other dishes—they’re already paid for.” Tacos also deliver ease of execution. “Most of the prep is mise en place, and then it’s just quick assembly,” says Chef Miles.

There’s no better home for the modern mash-up than a taco shell. Just ask Roy Choi of Kogi BBQ, a food truck empire in Los Angeles, who blew up the culinary world with his taco genius. As evidence, look at his Short Rib Taco, which sports caramelized Korean barbecue short rib, a salsa roja made with Mexican and Korean chilies, cilantro-onion relish and chili-soy slaw—all atop crisply griddled corn tortillas. He started a taco revolution, one in which bold flavour combinations dictate the build and the authenticity of experience dials up the perceived value. With that mandate, the chefs at the Kraft Culinary Centre proudly present six taco recipes designed to bring in more customers.

Barry Miles

Senior Corporate Chef Kraft Foodservice

“These on-trend mash-ups can be expressed through a few well-placed accents on familiar taco profiles-- maybe it’s fresh jicama and a habanero-spiked cheese. Introduce something unexpected and watch them come back for more.”


66% of consumers surveyed say they enjoy dishes that feature a fusion of flavours from more than one type of cuisine.

—Source: Technomic Canadian Flavour Consumer Trend Report, 2013

Chorizo and Egg Breakfast Tacos

Technomic’s 2014 Canadian trend forecast says consumers are looking for dishes that pack a big punch—a majority of consumers (56%) say they enjoy very hot or spicy sauces, dips or condiments. Dial up the heat for your customers that yearn for bold flavours with this delicious breakfast dish. Our NEW Kraft Habanero Blend Shredded Cheese adds a spicy kick, and a tumble of chicharrón serves as a crispy porky garnish.

Peruvian Seafood Tacos

In its February 2014 trends report, Datassential calls out Peruvian as an emerging cuisine ripe for exploration. Quinoa, corn, empanadas and marinated fish offer a few delicious entry points here. “We love Peru’s aji chile with its fruity, full-bodied profile,” says Chef Miles. In this better-for-you recipe, the Kraft chefs introduce aji chile paste and garlic to PURE Kraft Refrigerated Ranch Dressing. “It adds dimension, but also helps us build an authentic flavour story.”

Roasted Brussels & Grilled Veggie Tacos

Vegetarian options help kill the veto vote, but flavour has to come first. Our chefs grill adobo-dusted zucchini, portobello and yellow squash for deep, developed flavours. Roasted Brussels sprouts bring wow factor while jicama and avocado deliver fresh, crisp notes. The dipping sauce sees a come-back-for-more blend of Philadelphia Cream Cheese and Kraft Rancher’s Choice Dressing.

Tilapia Tacos

This fish taco answers a few menu needs—healthy choice, meatless option and clean flavours—and it’s certainly making headway on menus nationwide. Grilled instead of fried keeps it in the better-for-you range. Here, our chefs marinate tilapia in Kraft Calorie-Wise Zesty Italian Dressing for its bright Mediterranean profile. They combine Miracle Whip Calorie-Wise Spread with salsa for a creamy mouthfeel and zesty flavour.

Roasted Brussels & Grilled Veggie Tacos

In this recipe, our chefs present a Korean profile in an easy-to-understand taco stack. They marinate the beef in a deep, concentrated marinade, then dress the salad with Kraft Calorie-Wise Zesty Italian Dressing embellished with ancho chile, guajillo, hot sauce and cumin.

Hot Smoked Salmon Taco

Technomic’s 2013 Menu Monitor tells us that salmon is the most popular fish entrée on Canadian menus. This easy-build taco gives diners something unexpected but familiar. To complement the smoked flavours in the salmon, our chefs add Bull’s-Eye Bold Original Barbecue Sauce. For a crisp, fresh note, they finish the taco with broccoli slaw and fresh corn tossed in Kraft Coleslaw Dressing.

Tacos on the Menu

Tacos are a great way to introduce customers to Latin American flavours, as well as a melding of global flavours. Here are a few of our favourite menu sightings that illustrate how the trend is taking shape:

Habanero HeatGet Ready for the Lunch Rush - Pressed, grilled or toasted, these melty sandwiches are the hottest things going.
Kraftworks - Sign Up

Springproduce
Tacos aux choux de
Bruxelles rôtis et
aux légumes grillés

Les meilleurs tacos en ville

Springproduce

Six recettes géniales de tacos pour votre menu

 

Les tacos – l’aliment simple aux possibilités infinies. Plus impressionnants que les sandwichs et plus branchés que les hamburgers, ils demeurent dans la zone de confort de vos clients. Et dans la cuisine, les tacos répondent à merveille à quelques soucis opérationnels. « Avec la demande de mets composés amusants aux accents internationaux, les tacos permettent d’utiliser des mélanges d’ingrédients et les restes de manière créative », déclare Barry Miles, chef de cuisine principal, Service alimentaire Kraft. « Ils réduisent les coûts, car vous utilisez des ingrédients déjà payés pour d’autres plats ». Les tacos sont également faciles à exécuter. « Le gros de la préparation se résume à la mise en place et au dressage de l’assiette », de dire le chef Miles.

Il n’y a pas de meilleure enveloppe pour un mets composé que les coquilles à tacos. Parlez-en à Roy Choi de Kogi BBQ, l’empire de la cantine roulante à Los Angeles qui a révolutionné le monde culinaire par son génie en tacos. À preuve, ce taco aux bouts de côtes qui met en scène des bouts de côtes caramélisées sur barbecue coréen, une salsa roja faite de piments mexicains et coréens, une relish à la coriandre et à l’oignon, et une salade de chou au chili et au soja — le tout garnissant des tortillas de maïs croquantes cuites sur plaque. Il a lancé la révolution des tacos, où les saveurs puissantes s’opposent et se marient, ce qui rehausse l’expérience gustative et la perception de la valeur ajoutée. Forts de ce mandat, les chefs du Centre culinaire Kraft vous présentent fièrement six recettes de tacos qui attireront de nouveaux clients dans votre établissement.

Barry Miles

chef de cuisine principal, Service alimentaire Kraft

« Ces mets composés s’expriment par quelques accents placés judicieusement sur des tacos familiers, par exemple par un jicama frais et un fromage rehaussé de habanero. Lancez des goûts inusités, et vous les verrez vous en redemander.»

top-10

66% des consommateurs sondés ont déclaré qu’ils aimaient les plats qui exhalent la fusion des saveurs de plus d’un type de cuisine.

—Technomic, Rapport sur les tendances des saveurs chez les consommateurs canadiens, 2013.
top-10

Tacos du matin au chorizo et aux œufs

Les prévisions des tendances canadiennes énoncées par Technomic pour 2014 veulent que les consommateurs recherchent des mets qui ont du goût — la majorité (56 %) déclarant qu’ils aiment les sauces, trempettes ou condiments piquants ou très piquants. Intensifiez les saveurs audacieuses pour vos clients qui en meurent d’envie grâce à ce délicieux petit déjeuner. Notre NOUVEAU fromage Habanero râpé Kraft ajoute une pointe épicée, et le chicharrón sert de garniture de couennes de porc croustillante.

Tacos du capitaine façon péruvienne

Dans son rapport sur les tendances de février 2014, Datassential cite la cuisine péruvienne comme une cuisine émergente prête à être explorée. Le quinoa, le maïs, les empanadas et le poisson mariné sont de délicieux points de départ à cette cuisine exotique. « Nous raffolons tous des piments ajis du Pérou, aux notes fruitées et au corps plein », affirme le chef Miles. Dans cette recette meilleure pour la santé, les chefs incorporent de la pâte d’aji et de l'ail à de la vinaigrette réfrigérée ranch PURE Kraft. « Cela ajoute une dimension et aide à construire l’authenticité des saveurs. »

Tacos aux choux de Bruxelles rôtis et aux légumes grillés

Les plats végétariens aident à diversifier le menu, mais la saveur passe en premier. Nos chefs font griller des courgettes, portobellos et courges jaunes saupoudrés d’adobo pour exprimer des saveurs profondes. Les choux de Bruxelles rôtis sont épatants tandis que le jicama et l’avocat y vont d’une note fraîche et croquante. La trempette faite d’un mélange de fromage à la crème Philadelphia et de vinaigrette Campagne Kraft donne un petit goût de revenez-y.

Tacos au tilapia

Ce taco au poisson comble quelques lacunes de votre menu — choix santé, plat sans viande et saveurs franches — et se fait résolument une place dans les menus à l’échelle nationale. Le poisson grillé plutôt que frit range le taco dans la gamme « meilleur pour la santé ». Ici, nos chefs ont fait mariner le tilapia dans de la vinaigrette Italienne piquante Calorie-Wise Kraft en raison de son profil méditerranéen puissant. Ils combinent de la tartinade Calorie-Wise Miracle Whip à de la salsa pour obtenir une texture crémeuse et un arôme piquant en bouche.

Pile de salade taco à la coréenne

Dans cette recette, nos chefs donnent un profil coréen à un taco étagé facile. Ils font mariner le bœuf dans une marinade concentrée, puis assaisonnent la salade de la vinaigrette Italienne piquante Calorie-Wise Kraft et la garnissent de piments ancho et guajillo, de sauce piquante et de cumin.

Tacos chauds au saumon fumé

Le rapport Menu Monitor 2013 de Technomic révèle que le saumon est le poisson le plus prisé comme plat de résistance des menus canadiens. Ce taco facile à construire donne aux dîneurs un mets inattendu, mais familier. Pour ajouter aux arômes de fumée du saumon, nos chefs incorporent de la sauce barbecue Bull’s-Eye Bold Original. Et pour la touche finale, ils donnent au taco une note croquante de fraîcheur par l’ajout de salade de chou, de brocoli et de maïs frais remués dans de la vinaigrette Salade de chou Kraft.

Les tacos au menu

Les tacos sont idéals pour initier vos clients aux saveurs latino-américaines, ainsi qu’aux saveurs du monde. Voici quelques exemples de nos recettes préférées qui montrent l’ampleur de la tendance :

HabaneroGet Ready for the Lunch Rush - Pressed, grilled or toasted, these melty sandwiches are the hottest things going.