Kraft on Craft

A better-burger joint finds inspiration with Kraft.

 

The WORKS Gourmet Burger Bistro started out as a 20-seat restaurant in Ottawa in 2001. Now, there are 21 units in Canada with an impressive growth plan in motion. Certainly, the better-burger category has exploded over the last few years. What sets this category apart is quality of ingredients, cooking method and variety of ingredients. "There's been a shift in consumer dining trends with a focus on 'back to basics' menus, value and convenience," says Chris Doepner, R&D manager for this Oakville, Ontario-based micro-chain. "The gourmet-burger category delivers on all of those points."

For The WORKS, that better-burger experience is expressed through hand-pressed fresh Canadian beef, fire grilling and a jaw-dropping ingredient list of bold, eclectic burger builds. "Outrageous toppings bring customers in and make them remember us, for sure, but at our base, we start with a really great burger," says Doepner. As example, The Sweet Ride sees a burger topped with caramelized onions, ripe pear and Brie. Or take the Sexy Burger, with pineapple, housemade sweet and spicy sauce, Philadelphia Cream Cheese and hot peppers. "You've got lots going on there, and the Philly brings it all together really nicely."

Chris Doepner
R&D Manager, Chris Doepner
Operation Stats

www.worksburger.com

Open 11AM to 10PM

21 units

72 burger topping combinations + 6 patty choices = 432 burger choices

Hold the Phone!

The Hold the Phone burger at The WORKS caught our attention: the burger is topped with peanut butter, Philadelphia Cream Cheese and Monterey Jack. After cooking until the toppings melt together, it's placed on a grilled bun with lettuce. "The peanut butter alone here wouldn't work. The cream cheese gives it an awesome texture and just melts in your mouth. It's all about the mouthfeel with this burger," says Doepner. "This is one of those burgers that's a niche product, but the people who brave it, love it."

Hold the Phone!

Out of 72 burgers, the San Francisco Treat rates among the top 20. A menu original, it features a burger topped with Kraft Macaroni & Cheese and Canadian Cheddar. "Kids and college students love this burger," says Doepner. "The brand name has serious pull with this one."

Hold the Phone!
Hold the Phone!

"Choosing the right ground beef and cooking it on a fire grill is the easiest way to create the best burger possible," says Doepner. "Many chefs claim that a high fat content is the best way to increase the moisture and flavour of the end product. This is true, but working on a fire grill has limitations. High fat content (15% +) will create flaring while working over an open flame. This will cause your delicious patty to taste more like carbon than the wonderful flavour of fresh seasoned beef."

Hold the Phone!
  • 1 Choose fresh ground beef over frozen.
  • 1 For fire grilling, look for a fat content of 14%, or medium ground beef.
  • 1 Go with ground chuck for optimal flavour and texture.
Q&A KRAFT:
Chris Doepner DOEPNER:
Q&A KRAFT:

If you were sent to a desert island, what 3 ingredients would you take with you?

Chris Doepner DOEPNER:

I love cooking fresh, seasonal stuff so I think I'd like being on an island. I'd take with me smoked paprika, chipotle and lime.

Q&A KRAFT:

What's your favourite kitchen tool?

Chris Doepner DOEPNER:

The charcoal grill. It adds so much to a dish with its depth of flavour and smokiness. It also adds to the experience—something coming off the charcoal grill is special.

Q&A KRAFT:

Whom would you most like to cook for?

Chris Doepner DOEPNER:

I really like Chef Michael Smith. My personal goal is to try to be like him. On the other hand, I would love to cook for the "Top Chef" judges on the Food Network.

Q&A KRAFT:

What is your favourite Kraft product?

Chris Doepner DOEPNER:

Kraft Dinner. I can't get enough of it.

Q&A KRAFT:

What's the most underrated ingredient?

Chris Doepner DOEPNER:

Salt. It brings out flavour, it brings food to life.

Chris Doepner is no longer at The Works.
Looking for bold burger builds? Go here.
Kraftworks - Sign Up

Kraft ou l'art d'être chef

Un resto de burgers gastronomiques s'inspire des produits Kraft

 

Le resto The WORKS Gourmet Burger Bistro ne comptait que 21 places lorsqu'il a ouvert ses portes à Ottawa en 2001. Aujourd'hui, on compte 19 établissements au Canada, et le plan de croissance est ambitieux. À l'évidence, la catégorie des burgers gastronomiques a connu un essor fulgurant ces dernières années. Ce qui distingue cette catégorie, c'est la qualité et la variété des ingrédients, ainsi que le mode de cuisson. « On remarque une évolution des tendances chez les consommateurs en matière de restauration, avec un retour aux sources dans les menus et un accent sur la valeur et la commodité », explique Chris Doepner, directeur, recherche et développement, pour cette microchaîne basée à Oakville (Ontario). « La catégorie des burgers gastronomiques s'inscrit parfaitement dans cette tendance. »

La qualité supérieure des burgers du resto The WORKS repose sur le bœuf canadien frais pressé à la main et grillé sur le feu, sans parler de la spectaculaire liste d'ingrédients qui permet d'apprêter des burgers aussi originaux qu'éclectiques. « Il ne fait pas de doute que les garnitures délirantes attirent les clients et marquent les esprits, mais au départ il faut que le burger soit excellent », dit M. Doepner. À titre d'exemple, le « Sweet Ride » est garni d'oignons caramélisés, de tranches de poire bien mûre et de Brie. Ou prenez le « Sexy Burger » : ananas, sauce sucrée et épicée maison, fromage à la crème Philadelphia et piments forts. « Il s'en passe des choses, mais le fromage à la crème Philadelphia consolide le tout. »

Chris Doepner
R&D Manager, Chris Doepner
Operation Stats

www.worksburger.com

Ouvert de 11 h à 22 h

21établissements

72 garnitures + 6choix de galettes = 432 choix de hamburgers

Hold the Phone!

Le burger Hold the Phone du bistro The WORKS a piqué notre curiosité : il est garni de beurre d'arachide, de fromage à la crème Philadelphia et de Monterey Jack. La cuisson fait fondre l'ensemble des garnitures, puis le tout est déposé sur un petit pain avec de la laitue. « Le beurre d'arachide, seul, ne fonctionnerait pas. Le fromage à la crème crée une texture ahurissante qui fond dans la bouche. La clé de ce burger, c'est la sensation en bouche, dit M. Doepner. Ce burger est un produit de niche, évidemment, mais les gens qui s'y risquent sont conquis. »

Hold the Phone!

Sur 72 burgers, le San Francisco Treat se classe dans le top 20. Véritable originalité, il s'agit d'un burger garni de macaroni et fromage Kraft et de cheddar canadien. « Les enfants et les étudiants raffolent de ce burger, dit M. Doepner. La marque a énormément d'importance pour ce groupe. »

Hold the Phone!
Hold the Phone!

« Choisir le bœuf haché adéquat et le cuire sur le gril est le moyen le plus facile de créer le meilleur burger possible, dit M. Doepner. Selon de nombreux chefs, une viande riche en gras est le meilleur moyen d'obtenir un produit final plus juteux et savoureux. C'est vrai, mais travailler sur le feu a ses limites. Sur une flamme nue, une forte teneur en gras (plus de 15 %) favorise l'embrasement. Votre délicieuse galette risque alors d'avoir le goût de carbone plutôt que la merveilleuse saveur du bœuf assaisonné. »

Hold the Phone!
  • 1 Privilégiez le bœuf haché frais à la viande congelée.
  • 1 Pour une cuisson sur le gril, optez pour une teneur en gras de 14 % ou pour du bœuf haché mi-maigre.
  • 1 Pour un maximum de saveur et de texture, prenez de l'épaule hachée.
Q&A KRAFT:
Chris Doepner DOEPNER:
Q&A KRAFT:

Si l'on vous envoyait sur une île déserte, quels trois ingrédients emporteriez-vous?

Chris Doepner DOEPNER:

J'adore cuisiner des produits frais saisonniers, alors je me plairais beaucoup sur une île déserte. J'emporterais du paprika fumé, des piments chipotle et de la lime.

Q&A KRAFT:

Quel est votre article de cuisine préféré?

Chris Doepner DOEPNER:

Le gril à charbon de bois. Il ajoute tellement de saveur avec ses notes de fumée, en plus de rehausser l'expérience—tout ce qui sort d'un gril à charbon de bois a quelque chose de spécial.

Q&A KRAFT:

Pour qui aimeriez-vous cuisiner?

Chris Doepner DOEPNER:

J'adore le chef Michael Smith. Personnellement, j'aspire à marcher dans ses traces. Toutefois, j'aimerais aussi cuisiner pour les juges de l'émission « Top Chef » du canal Food Network.

Q&A KRAFT:

Quel est votre produit Kraft préféré?

Chris Doepner DOEPNER:

Kraft Dinner. Je ne peux pas m'en passer.

Q&A KRAFT:

Quel est l'ingrédient le plus sous-estimé?

Chris Doepner DOEPNER:

Le sel. Il fait ressortir les saveurs, il donne vie aux aliments.

Chris Doepner ne travaille plus au restaurant The Works.
Friand de burgers audacieux? Allez ici.
solutionskraft - Inscrivez-vous