Get saucy! Kraft BBQ sauces = dozens of tasty uses


Sauces have an important role to play at every meal part.

Sauces today are much more than a mere topping or an afterthought to add to grilling meat. They’re so versatile that they can be used as is or as a base for other toppings. Sauces also touch nearly every part of the menu, from appetizers and warm salads to entrées.

Sauces are also a great way to be on-trend with global flavours bringing excitement to all areas of the menu. Restaurant Canada’s 2015 Chef Survey identified Ethnic Sauces as one of the top 10 trends on Canadian menus1. It further mentioned Ethnic Fusion, Southeast Asian, Indian, Korean and Middle Eastern as the hottest trend cuisines. Sauces are an ideal way to capture some of these global flavours.

For Canadian diners, barbecue sauces in particular have gone mainstream2. Consumer interest in barbecue flavours for menu items beyond traditional grilled fare is growing. As an example, 27% of Canadian consumers polled for Technomic’s 2014 Canadian Pizza Consumer Trend Report said they would consider ordering a pizza with barbecue sauce, up from 16% who said the same in 2012.

Beyond the grill. smoky barbecue flavour shows every sign of sticking around beyond the grill and onto menus in innovative new dishes3.

Technomic’s MenuMonitor online trend-tracking resource indicates, over the past five years, barbecue flavour mentions on menus in Canadian restaurants have seen a 49% increase. And although most smoked flavours are found in meats and cheeses, a number of Canadian restaurants are now introducing the smokiness of barbecue across different dishes on their menus3.

49% increase of barbeque flavours on Canadian Menus
Some chefs are using smoke-infused fresh produce and condiments to add flavour to their vegetarian and seafood-based entrées, while some have even gone so far as to add smoking to their desserts3. Barbecue sauce in general can definitely be used outside the milieu of grilled meats,” says Kraft corporate chef Kira Smith. “Use it as a sauce on pizzas or flatbreads, combine with mayonnaise for a spread on sandwiches and wraps or as a dressing for bound salads and coleslaws, use it as a finishing drizzle for macaroni and cheese, pizzas and flatbreads, and even salads to add a hit of flavour.
Get on Trend

Kraft’s sauce lineup can help operators stay current with the latest trends. “Kraft offers consistent, high quality sauces that can be used as bases to incorporate other flavours, allowing operators to offer customized sauces,” says Kraft corporate chef Kira Smith.

“Utilizing a base from which to build different flavour profiles can potentially cut costs and reduce waste as it eliminates that need to purchase multiple sauces. Kraft sauces can be work horses in the kitchen.”

They are also versatile enough to create new taste experiences for diners looking for fresh culinary adventures. For example, why not take a standard burger and give it a global twist? “Prepare a Korean-style barbecue sauce by adding some garlic, ginger, scallions and gochujang to your base and have the burger garnishes echo the influence by adding a touch of kimchee,” Chef Kira suggests

“Essentially, you are using the barbecue sauce as a medium to go on different flavour adventures, balancing the familiar with the new.”

Barbecue sauce can be used all year-round to deliver bold, rich flavours – not just for summer favourites, she adds. “Barbecue sauce can be infused into many seasonal dishes, such as the rich stews and chilis of fall and winter. Don’t limit yourself to pairing it with main dish meats either: add a dollop of barbecue sauce to your mashed sweet potatoes and toss in some crisply cooked bacon. Consider how a touch of barbecue sauce can add some smokiness to a shrimp taco that’s garnished with a fresh summery slaw.”

Meet the Kraft Sauce Lineup

Kraft features a great portfolio of on-trend sauces to help you with your menu innovation. For Kraft BBQ Sauce and Bull’s Eye Barbecue Sauce, think beyond the grill. For Kraft Bistro Sauce, don’t limit yourself to using it just as a sandwich spread. There’s so much you can do with Kraft Sauces — we suggest everything!

Check out our recipes that capture many of the innovative ways you can get saucy with your menu.

BBQ Sauce, Bulls-eye Sauce, Sauce Works
Feeling inspired? Explore even more delicious ways to enhance your menu HERE.
  1. Restaurants Canada Canadian Chef Survey
  4. DL Q2 2014 (52 w/e June, 2014)
  5. Technomic Flavour Lifecycle — p/e Q2 2014
Border Middle

Tirez parti des sauces pour conférer à vos mets des saveurs internationales populaires et actualiser facilement tout votre menu. En effet, selon le sondage de Restaurant Canada mené auprès de chefs en 2015, les sauces ethniques sont l’une des dix premières tendances dans les menus canadiens1. Selon le même sondage, la cuisine ethnique fusion, soit sud-asiatique, indienne, coréenne et moyen-orientale, est l’une des tendances dominantes. Les sauces constituent une manière facile de tirer parti de ces saveurs globales au goût du jour.

Pour les consommateurs canadiens, les sauces barbecue, en particulier, sont désormais un ingrédient courant2 qui occupe une plus grande place comme assaisonnement sur plus de mets outre les grillades traditionnelles. Par exemple, selon le sondage sur les tendances de consommation de pizza, mené par Technomic en 2014, 27 % des consommateurs canadiens sondés ont déclaré être ouverts à commander une pizza assaisonnée de sauce barbecue, une augmentation de 16 % c. 2012.

Beyond the grill. smoky barbecue flavour shows every sign of sticking around beyond the grill and onto menus in innovative new dishes3.

Selon les données en ligne de suivi des tendances de Technomic MenuMonitor, au cours des cinq dernières années, la mention « saveur de barbecue » a augmenté de 49 % dans les menus des restaurants canadiens. Bien que les saveurs fumées visent principalement la viande et le fromage, cette tendance s’étend maintenant à différents mets sur la carte d’un certain nombre de restaurants canadiens3.

49% increase of barbeque flavours on Canadian Menus
Some chefs are using smoke-infused fresh produce and condiments to add flavour to their vegetarian and seafood-based entrées, while some have even gone so far as to add smoking to their desserts3. Barbecue sauce in general can definitely be used outside the milieu of grilled meats,” says Kraft corporate chef Kira Smith. “Use it as a sauce on pizzas or flatbreads, combine with mayonnaise for a spread on sandwiches and wraps or as a dressing for bound salads and coleslaws, use it as a finishing drizzle for macaroni and cheese, pizzas and flatbreads, and even salads to add a hit of flavour.
Get on Trend

La gamme des sauces Kraft peut aider les exploitants à tirer parti des tendances les plus récentes. « Kraft offre des sauces de qualité supérieure, qui peuvent être utilisées comme bases pour incorporer d’autres saveurs, ce qui permet aux exploitants de personnaliser leurs sauces », ajoute la chef d’entreprise Kira Smith de Kraft.

« Utiliser une base pour créer différents profils de saveurs pourrait réduire les coûts et les pertes, et éliminer l’achat de plusieurs sauces. Les sauces Kraft peuvent être un ingrédient indispensable dans une cuisine. »

« Elles sont également assez polyvalentes pour créer de nouvelles expériences gustatives pour les clients en quête d’aventures culinaires novatrices. Par exemple, pourquoi ne pas donner une tournure globale à un burger ordinaire? Apprêtez une sauce barbecue de style coréen en ajoutant de l’ail, du gingembre, des oignons verts et du gochujang (pâte de chili coréenne) à votre sauce de base, et garnissez ce mets d’une touche de kimchee pour compléter cette influence », suggère la chef Kira.

Essentiellement, vous utilisez la sauce barbecue comme base pour créer différentes saveurs inédites, en combinant des goûts familiers et novateurs. »

« La sauce barbecue n’est pas réservée à l’été; elle peut être utilisée toute l’année pour conférer des saveurs audacieuses et riches à tous vos plats. Elle peut aussi être ajoutée à plusieurs mets saisonniers comme les plats mijotés et les chilis riches, populaires en automne et en hiver. Et, ne vous limitez pas aux plats principaux de viande : ajoutez une cuillère de sauce barbecue à votre purée de patates douces et garnissez-la de bacon croustillant. Un filet de sauce barbecue peut aussi ajouter un goût de fumée à un taco aux crevettes accompagné d’une salade estivale fraîche. »

Meet the Kraft Sauce Lineup

Kraft offre un excellent portefeuille de sauces qui s’inscrivent dans les tendances actuelles pour vous aider à créer de nouveaux plats pour votre menu. Ne confinez pas les sauces BBQ Kraft et les sauces barbecue Bull’s-Eye aux grillades. Et, n’oubliez pas que la sauce Bistro Kraft est beaucoup plus qu’une simple tartinade à sandwiches. Vous pouvez faire beaucoup plus avec les sauces Kraft – selon nous, vous pouvez tout faire!

Jetez un coup d’œil à nos recettes qui traduisent plusieurs manières novatrices d’utiliser les sauces Kraft à toutes les sauces dans votre menu!

BBQ Sauce, Bulls-eye Sauce, Sauce Works

Les sauces barbecue Kraft à toutes les sauces = des douzaines d’utilisations savoureuses!

 

Les sauces jouent un rôle important dans chaque partie du menu.

Aujourd’hui, les sauces sont beaucoup plus qu’un simple condiment ou ajout à une grillade. Elles sont tellement polyvalentes qu’elles peuvent être utilisées comme base pour apprêter d’autres garnitures. Les sauces jouent également un rôle dans chaque partie du menu, des entrées aux salades chaudes en passant par les plats principaux

Feeling inspired? Explore even more delicious ways to enhance your menu HERE.
  1. Restaurants Canada Canadian Chef Survey https://www.restaurantscanada.org/en/Canadian-Chef-Survey.
  2. https://blogs.technomic.com/bold-new-barbecue-items-for-summer-on-canadian-menus/
  3. https://blogs.technomic.com/smoke-signals-popular-flavour-filtering-into-new-foods/
  4. DL Q2 2014 (52 w/e June, 2014)
  5. Technomic Flavour Lifecycle — p/e Q2 2014
Border Middle